PDA

View Full Version : Using 32X with CDX...



3DOMan
06-19-2010, 10:11 PM
Are you supposed to use the clips or just insert the 32X unit freely? I heard this can be damaging to the CDX or the 32X unit. If I remember right Sega even discouraged people from using the 32X and CDX together.

TmEE
06-19-2010, 10:27 PM
32X and CDX will work fine together and no need for any clips.

Dant
06-19-2010, 10:41 PM
Are you supposed to use the clips or just insert the 32X unit freely? I heard this can be damaging to the CDX or the 32X unit. If I remember right Sega even discouraged people from using the 32X and CDX together.

That was only because of the FCC and they're hate for Sega by forcing them to use excessive RF shielding on everything.

3DOMan
06-19-2010, 10:42 PM
Out of curiousity, how does the built-in video output of the CDX compare with that of the short motherboard Genesis 2?

Xeniczone
06-23-2010, 05:22 AM
If you look in the 32X instruction you will see a picture of the adapter that I think your thinking off, but it was never released.

The only problem with mating a 32X to a CDX is that because it isn't securely mounted into the CDX any kind of nudge will cause the game to freeze, which if it happen constantly can ruin the game. I think this is what people refer to when they say the 32X ruins Genesis games, when it really doesn't it was just installed wrong.

Chilly Willy
06-23-2010, 03:29 PM
A 32X in a CDX is like the Slim XBox 360 - okay if you're careful and don't touch it, and don't let the kids near it. :)