PDA

View Full Version : New Atgames console: Am i wrong for wanting this?

Saturn Fan
10-24-2012, 02:27 PM
Upcoming Atgames Genesis console. Have never had an Atgames unit before and curiosity on this piece alone makes it tempting, plus taking it apart and seeing how it looks and if anything can be modded(i'm a tech guy).

Also buying new licensed "Sega hardware" after all these years kinda has a neat charm to it. Classic Sega software does not get enough appreciation as is, don't we want to support such an effort?

The game selection also looks pretty good, its practically an Sonic's Ultimate Genesis collection equivalent. Every Sonic, Streets of Rage, Golden Axe, Shinobi, Ecco, and Vectorman in one unit? Plus other classics like Altered Beast, Decap Attack, and Comix Zone. Thats pretty awesome.

Releasing in early November:

Note- Only 40 games are Genesis titles. The rest are flash game fluff.
http://www.atgames.us/Classic-Game-Console-PRE-ORDER-FB8200R-80.htm
http://digthatbox.com/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/Video_Games/AtGames-Sega-Genesis.jpg

TrekkiesUnite118
10-24-2012, 02:30 PM
Unless they've dramatically improved the sound quality, don't buy it. AtGames consoles have horrid sound emulation, bad compatibility, and a slew of other problems. They don't use real hardware like most other clones. They instead use a Titan ARM CPU running a bad emulator.

Lastcallhall
10-24-2012, 03:03 PM
There's a reason people call it shatgames, crapgames, etc. I wouldn't waste my time.

Christuserloeser
10-24-2012, 03:08 PM
People think Kega Fusion when they hear that the AtGames machines use emulation, but that is not the case at all. Think Sega Smash Pack Vol. 1 on Dreamcast.

The Jackal
10-24-2012, 03:14 PM
@ Thread title: Yes, yes you are.

Saturn Fan
10-24-2012, 07:28 PM
New videos on the unit by a guy named locutus. He claims the latest version of the AtgamesEmu software performs better:

Part 1: