PDA

View Full Version : Sega CDX



Vorty
03-10-2007, 10:40 AM
Man, I just realised where I can buy a CDX! Aren't those consoles incredibly rare?

Also, what games were released solely for this system? I'm sure there was like six of them or something.

Symos
03-10-2007, 11:08 AM
I don't think there were any games that were only for the CDX. I think it was simply a portable mega drive with mega cd built it.

David J.
03-10-2007, 06:57 PM
It's just a Sega CD and a Genesis system in one. There's a few games that act up on it.

Joe Redifer
03-10-2007, 07:16 PM
He might be thinking about 32X CD games.

CMA Death Adder
03-10-2007, 08:20 PM
He might be thinking about 32X CD games.

Impossible! Nobody thinks about those. ;)

Vorty
03-11-2007, 11:09 AM
Actually, I was referring to 32X CD games. lol :D

David J.
03-11-2007, 11:26 AM
Well there was:

Corpse Killer
Fahrenheit (US version comes with a 32X version disc)
Night Trap
Slam City
Supreme Warrior

16-bit pwnage
03-11-2007, 06:35 PM
Nothing that's really worth having there (sit down Night Trap fans in the back). How much is this place asking for the CDX and what do they normally go for?

Mooияakeя
03-11-2007, 07:06 PM
Jurrasic Park and The Terminator play up for me on my Multi-Mega. Maybe the same for CDX?

evildragon
03-11-2007, 08:59 PM
this isn't about the Sega CDX..

It's about the 32X CD..

David J.
03-11-2007, 09:23 PM
Jurrasic Park and The Terminator play up for me on my Multi-Mega. Maybe the same for CDX?

I think Jurassic Park DOES work, but it takes a while to load. That's what I've known as public knowledge for years, but it may be false (damn you FAQ's from 1899!) Those problems are the same with the CDX. :(

I asked why some games don't work on a message board a long, long time ago. Which was almost seven years ago! And I was told that there was only one 68000 CPU in the CDX instead of two, like a normal Genesis and Sega CD do (1 in each system), and as a result those games crash because they are looking for two cpu's, or something like that. Data collision to be exact.

evildragon
03-11-2007, 09:44 PM
there is two CPUs in the CDX.. The "one" cpu thing is false.. It's just not possible to run with one CPU, because even the Sega CD BIOS screen needs both:

Main CPU: Background, text, etc
SCD CPU: The "SEGA" and "CD" logo flying around (via the ASIC)

JUNKER
05-19-2007, 12:54 PM
What's the big difference between regular Sega CD titles and Sega CD 32X titles?

Joe Redifer
05-19-2007, 01:02 PM
Check the Sega CD vs 32X thread, page 4 for pics.

JUNKER
05-19-2007, 01:14 PM
Check the Sega CD vs 32X thread, page 4 for pics.
Ah. 32X looks nicer. I had no idea that the 32X version of Night Trap looked similar to the 3DO one.