Quantcast

View Poll Results: Would you like to see a feature about overclocking the Genesis?

Voters
19. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes

    18 94.74%
  • no

    1 5.26%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 35

Thread: Overclocking the Genesis

  1. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,227
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Try to learn to overclock the system so you can play Viewpoint without any slowdowns.

  2. #17
    Master of Shinobi ary incorparated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,939
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    its difficult but im trying its not that simple,i have to find out why and what it does change.

  3. #18
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pittsbugh, PA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I would be interested in the article, as well as the 68010 swap.

  4. #19
    Loves Lori Bazzil! Raging in the Streets 108 Stars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Age
    38
    Posts
    3,999
    Rep Power
    41

    WTF

    I would never dare to mess with my beloved Mega Drive...

  5. #20
    Wildside Expert velvet396's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    37
    Posts
    137
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    fyi... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xu8923lWd9I
    the overclock video of sonic 2

  6. #21
    Master of Shinobi ary incorparated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,939
    Rep Power
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by 108 Stars
    I would never dare to mess with my beloved Mega Drive...
    I have like 10 megadrives bought cheaply for 30 euros total so it cant hurt to try it out,it only can hurt another trown away genesis,there are worser things in live,im not going to hell cause i killed a genesis,,i dont want to go to hell for that i didnt do it with purpose i only want it to walk faster by kicking it inventually.

    I have still have my megadrive 1+2 plus genesis 1+2+3 and megadrive 1+2 japans so cant go wrong,im never going to scre up a megadrive aggain,im curious about the swap mode,it seems doable soem games even do it,and some games can do 13,4 mhz without the help of the z80,BTW why did EA used the z80 for games like f22 and F17 eagle chopper attack didnt they suck hard enough without the extra processing,damn i can cout like 16 colours in screen max in those game yuck,and that has to offer rotation.

  7. #22
    Nameless One
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    77
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    is it true that MD1 can overlock much better than MD2? If so, why is that?

    i heard MD2 can only OC to ~10mhz with any stability

  8. #23
    Captain Bit Master of Shinobi 16-bit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,946
    Rep Power
    31

    Default

    I've seen it been done before, but when they played sonic the hedgehog 1, in the green hiill zone waterfalls, there was hundreds of fish, there is a video on youtube that shows it, but I can't find it.

  9. #24
    Zebbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Täby, Kingdom of Sweden
    Age
    34
    Posts
    9,060
    Rep Power
    123

    Default

    The ring sound is still way after in the overclock video. Why?
    New user who wants access to the forum? PM Melf!

  10. #25
    Nameless One
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    77
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fighter17
    Try to learn to overclock the system so you can play Viewpoint without any slowdowns.
    only 12mhz OC needed and viewpoint plays w/o slowdown.

    granted... it's much harder w/o slowdown

  11. #26
    Zebbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Täby, Kingdom of Sweden
    Age
    34
    Posts
    9,060
    Rep Power
    123

    Default

    Hehe. The slowdown of Thunder Force IV really helps a lot .
    New user who wants access to the forum? PM Melf!

  12. #27
    Master of Shinobi ary incorparated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,939
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zebbe
    The ring sound is still way after in the overclock video. Why?
    Probably cause the sound processor is modulated at the speed of 7,58 mhz so the z80 is 3,58 hz and stays 3,58 in par with 7,58 so youlle have a glitch,then the sound processor has to be overclocked also if possible.

  13. #28
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Can someone explain the point of overclocking a console for me? With a computer it makes sense because computers don't all have the same hardware, so the faster the better. But why would you want to overclock a peice of hardware that has software written specifically for it's specifacation?
    Last edited by Boopop; 08-16-2006 at 11:37 AM.

  14. #29
    WCPO Agent KillerBean2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Age
    37
    Posts
    775
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    I'm just doing it for fun

  15. #30
    Zebbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Täby, Kingdom of Sweden
    Age
    34
    Posts
    9,060
    Rep Power
    123

    Default

    Too eliminate slowdown, mayhaps?
    New user who wants access to the forum? PM Melf!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •