Quantcast

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 90s video game mascots... we need "mascosts" era again?

Mister Pilgrim Master of Shinobi Cucollins12's Avatar

Sonic 90s video game mascots... we need "mascosts" era again?

you know it.. in the 90s fighting and platformers with a cute or "cool" mascot ruled video games... mario sonic, sparkster, ristar,aero the acrobat, bubsy, boogerman and the list go on and on.. but those days are buried inthe past... now we live in a era were first person shooters rule and are the new fighting and platformers of the 90s... in your opinion its time for the return of the "mascot platformer" era?
    too old for video games huh?

We have Master Chief and...

...Sackboy?
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Redifer View Post
    Oh. I'm kind of new to the Genesis so I didn't know. It took a lot of time tearing that MUSHA label off. It came off in many pieces so I just stuck them on the insert and manual (which I also trashed) while I was doing it. I did keep the plastic case, though!

will hog your hedges... Raging in the Streets djshok's Avatar

Nah, the mascots were cool in the 90's but I think if new ones were to emerge they would be lame. The 90's had a cool, edgy attitude in the general pop culture and media, and the mascots reflected that. This decade... it's all about social media and political correctness, I'd hate to see what kind of a lame-ass mascot that would spawn.

The typical 90's mascot was Sonic or Cool Spot - cool, fun loving guy with an in-your-face attitude and happy-go-lucky lifestyle.

The mascot of this decade would probably be a hipster glasses wearing, iPhone using panda with a youtube channel that focuses on social issues...

I think I prefer to fondly remember the mascot era as it was.
    Last edited by djshok; 10-12-2012 at 10:11 AM.
    Ready to print game covers and cart labels: http://www.mediafire.com/?5gm45wyxr3xvv