Quantcast

Page 30 of 30 FirstFirst ... 202627282930
Results 436 to 445 of 445

Thread: Genesis 1 & Mega Drive 1 stereo mod no headphones volume control

  1. #436
    Outrunner CrossBow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ivory Tower Collections
    Posts
    643
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Yes I already have a replacement s-video board using the same +5 source and didn't want the audio and video on the same rail if possible. I found that other large +5 source riding alongside the audio filter cap location and took my +5 from there which, is the same +5 from VCC2 that the audio sub section is already using to begin with. Ground is attached off one of the anchor points from the old RF modulator location like you are doing. However, I already had RCAs installed on this Genesis and they are on the far right hand side so my audio wiring is routed roughly the same only along the back side behind the 68k to where it needs to go. I did find something interesting though that perhaps you can confirm?

    If I set the volume up really high on my AV receive I can hear some floor noise and I noticed that if I moved the output wires closer or further away from the vram that the noise would get louder or quieter accordingly. So it would seem that routing the audio outputs through or near the vram might cause some noise on the output lines. Did my attachment not work in my post that shows how I wired it all up? It basically looks nearly the same as yours even the wire colors though I used different wire that I had at the ready.

  2. #437
    The legendary gargoyle Road Rasher Firebrandx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    44
    Posts
    323
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Interesting observation on the noise floor. It was so low as to not even be noticed when I listened to installs on my headphones. Perhaps some coaxial shielded cabling would prevent that on the output lines.

  3. #438
    Outrunner CrossBow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ivory Tower Collections
    Posts
    643
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Installed one of these new M1 Mini Mega's into a va6 this weekend along with the still in development M1 Double Mega... here is a sound sample from that setup:

    Google Drive Link:
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=17G...3mRWwum13DbhEI

    Dropbox Link:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/r12enzs0y0...M1Amp.wav?dl=0

    This is raw unfiltered and unaltered direct audio captured at 24bit 96khz. The highest I can capture through my Zxr via analog.

  4. #439
    The legendary gargoyle Road Rasher Firebrandx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    44
    Posts
    323
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Now for the major reason I used 24.5KHz filtering: Sega CD playback with no muffling of the audio! Check out the net result of the M1 Sega CD on my M1 VA2 with the M1 Mini Mega:

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1UV...sa7f5mXTbOXeab

  5. #440
    Outrunner CrossBow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ivory Tower Collections
    Posts
    643
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Yeah the whole thing really sounds amazing. I've got video in the can for the M1 Mini Mega install to be edited and put up on my channel. It will replace the older Mega Amp bypass video as that product isn't continuing. Should I go ahead and take that video down now you think?

  6. #441
    The legendary gargoyle Road Rasher Firebrandx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    44
    Posts
    323
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Yeah, it's not supported or being produced anymore, other than as a standard bypass circuit for the SSDS3.

  7. #442
    The legendary gargoyle Road Rasher Firebrandx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    44
    Posts
    323
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Update in that I got back to the Double Mega and finalized the design, and have sent it off for fabrication. It's now designed to work with the M1 Mini Mega without the need of installing any new resistors, so "RDMR" and "RDML" will remain unpopulated. When installing the Double Mega by itself straight to the console's stock audio, modders will need to remove the 2.2k pull-down resistors for the YML and YMR outputs on the Genesis/MD board itself.

  8. #443

    Default

    Hello friends!
    Help me please!
    I decided to install the mod exactly the same as in the photo (this is not my photo, but an example from the Internet which I found).
    I am interested in the GROUND that goes to the RCA connectors.
    In the photo, I highlighted it in a red circle.
    Tell me what the yellow capacitor is used for and where it is better for me to take the GROUND for my Japanese Sega VA0.
    Thanks in advance for the answers.

  9. #444
    Outrunner CrossBow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ivory Tower Collections
    Posts
    643
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    I've seen that capacitor before. It isn't related to the mod for the audio. You can get your ground for the RCA jacks from anywhere. The actual boards from FirebrandX have multiple ground points on that board you can tap from for the RCA jacks and that is what I actually do. I attach the main ground to the actual audio amp board from one of the anchor points near the RF modulator. +5 can be tapped from the +5 off the RF modulator or routed from the same +5 the original amp used. In both cases those are being fed off VCC2 (Voltage regulator closed to the front of the Genesis) and that is important. But electrically the ground is pretty much the same.

    Also that board in the photo is a different board and I believe is the older audio amp bypass that is no longer being offered. The newer board completely replaces the old 1034 amp and mixer circuit on the Genesis. So there are more wires to attach, but it results in much clearer and consistent results.

    BTW...I would not put any mod boards on top of the VDP. It is noisy electrically and does get hot. I've a heat sink installed on mine along with the 68K and Z80.

  10. #445

    Default

    Thanks for your response!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •