Quantcast

Page 2 of 145 FirstFirst 1234561252102 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 2164

Thread: Ask general Genesis/MD/Sega CD/32X questions here (for new members)

  1. #16
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    no problem, glad to have helped..
    Last edited by evildragon; 03-13-2007 at 12:36 PM.

  2. #17
    djcrazymonkey
    Guest

    Default

    Hey guys
    There doesn't seem to be a thread for Genesis help, so I'll post here.
    I got a Genesis 2, a Sega CD, 32X and some games from a thrift store for $20, and the Gen doesn't power on. I'm using the original power pack, but no light comes on. However, one part of the PCB, labelled IC12, does get quite hot. Within a minute or 2, it becomes almost too hot to touch. It's large, made of metal, and has fins, like a heatsink (http://www.leopardcats.com/sparepart...drive2_pcb.jpg , left of the cart port). No signal goes to the TV either. I disconnected the Gen from the CD while testing, but I don't have the (red?) cover for the ext. port. Would that make a difference?
    Thanks for your help.

  3. #18
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    that's the voltage regulator.. the power pack is working..

    Do you have a multimeter? if so, tap the 2 and 3... (2 being ground, and 3 being output).. you should get 5v as a reading..

  4. #19
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,058
    Rep Power
    124

    Default Ask general Genesis/MD questions here (for those who can't start a new thread)

    For those who've just signed up, you may have a technical issue and can't start a new thread. Soon enough you'll be able to, but for now you can ask about technical for the Genesis/Mega Drive 1, 2 and 3 here. For 32X and Sega/Mega CD issues, see their other threads which are also stickied up here.

  5. #20
    Nameless One Jason Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tucson, Az.
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Will it work if I place the CD in the spindle, then put the platter on top of the disc, then close the lid?

    Quote Originally Posted by evildragon
    That part contains a small magnet, and uses the clamp, to hold the disc onto the platter.

    It is possible to fix, if you can find a matching piece (not THAT hard, but has to be close enough to like the spindle of the laser assembly. Some older Sony CD players, like the old CFD-440 boomboxes, MIGHT actually work (the laser assembly is actually the same assembly used on the Sega CD, on the newer model 2's (black spindle, vs, the silver spindle)...

    If you can't find this, you can use scotch tape as a temporary fix. Put the CD in you want to play, and scotch tape it to the spindle.. Be careful not to put the tape on the print, only on the clear part of the CD, as when removing the tape, it "might" take a pit of the print with it, which contains the foil that reflects the data...

  6. #21
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Allen
    Will it work if I place the CD in the spindle, then put the platter on top of the disc, then close the lid?
    the platter? are you referring to the clamp? yes, it will work.. it has a magnet.. when the lid is closed, the clamp literally free floats anyway..

  7. #22
    Nameless One Jason Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tucson, Az.
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Yes, That's what I meant. Thank you. The surgery required to replace that piece was a bit daunting for me.

  8. #23
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,058
    Rep Power
    124

    Default

    Feel free to continue this particular discussion in the new general Genesis thread below this one, if needed. Thanks.

  9. #24
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Redifer
    Feel free to continue this particular discussion in the new general Genesis thread below this one, if needed. Thanks.
    Jason Allen's discussion is about the Sega CD..

  10. #25
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,058
    Rep Power
    124

    Default

    Oops, you're right. I got confused with the other guy on the last page.

    Jason, you can start threads with the amount of posts you have now.

  11. #26
    djcrazymonkey
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djcrazymonkey
    Hey guys
    There doesn't seem to be a thread for Genesis help, so I'll post here.
    I got a Genesis 2, a Sega CD, 32X and some games from a thrift store for $20, and the Gen doesn't power on. I'm using the original power pack, but no light comes on. However, one part of the PCB, labelled IC12, does get quite hot. Within a minute or 2, it becomes almost too hot to touch. It's large, made of metal, and has fins, like a heatsink (http://www.leopardcats.com/sparepart...drive2_pcb.jpg , left of the cart port). No signal goes to the TV either. I disconnected the Gen from the CD while testing, but I don't have the (red?) cover for the ext. port. Would that make a difference?
    Thanks for your help.
    I havn't got a multimeter (I'm gonna borrow one from a friend later) but I do have another identical power supply from the 32X, and I get the same result, no LED, really hot heatsink, no heat from the 68k.
    Thanks.

  12. #27
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    as i said, i know the power supply is working, as the voltage regular is getting hot...

  13. #28
    djcrazymonkey
    Guest

    Default

    I can't see any shorts on the PCB, so would you say I'm SOL?

  14. #29
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    i won't know unless you test the voltage regulator, to make sure it's even outputting a voltage..

  15. #30
    Joe The Dude
    Guest

    Default

    Lets say that I have:
    A Model 1 Sega Genesis.
    All of the Metal Plates from a Model 2 Sega CD.
    A Model 1 Sega CD (Without any Model 1 Metal Plates).

    Can I use the Sega CD Model 2 Metal Plates with a Model 1 Sega CD?
    Will they line up properly?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •