Quantcast

Thread: Pier Solar Reprint Cartridge Overheating Problem?

Electronics Engineer Road Rasher db Electronics's Avatar

Default Pier Solar Reprint Cartridge Overheating Problem?

I recently bought a Pier Solar reprint on eBay for a reasonable (that's what I tell my wife!) price.

The game gets VERY hot during game play. There was easily a 30 degree rise in temperature on the cartridge shell which would indicate that the board is generating a tremendous amount of heat - as an engineer I got quite curious and opened up the cartridge to see what was causing this.

From left to right on the board (see attached), looks like: 3.3V linear regulator, blob hiding a TSSOP part (most likely Flash IC), blob hiding a TQFP part (most likely a CPLD), serial flash (save files I assume).

From the amount of heat this thing generates during game play I have to assume that the TSSOP Flash used is a 3.3V part. What adds more weight to this 3.3V assumption is that the game's capacity, 8MB (64 Mb), is too large for contemporary (and affordable) 5V parts. This would mean that the Flash chip is taking one hell of a beating. If I'm right about the 3.3V Flash then I'm seriously worried about how long this physical game will last...

Has anyone else ever looked into this?

PierSolar.jpg

PierSolarPCB.jpg
    www.db-elec.com
    Code:
    do {
        Genesis();
    } while (Nintendont());

I have yet to unseal my pier solar reprint. I have that syndrome where one has difficulties unsealing video games.

But your post makes me worried :s

There doesn't even seem to be any series resistors with the 5V signals going into the 3.3V parts. The Everdrives were faced with the 3.3V -> 5V problem as well; Krikzz has always used either 100 ohms series resistors (with which Altera specifically states MAX II and Cyclone parts become 5V tolerant with those) or real level translators. Examples include:

100 ohm series resistors:
    -Turbro Everdrive
    -Master Everdrive
    -Mega Everdrive