Quantcast

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Anyone know anywhere that RGB Scart mods SG-1000 Mark 2's ?

  1. #1
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Anyone know anywhere that RGB Scart mods SG-1000 Mark 2's ?

    I have zero technical knowledge on being able to do this myself.
    I live in England and have a Japanese SG-1000 Mark 2 which being an RF console doesn't work on my PAL TV (crt). I've tried a convertor box to no avail.
    I've read this mod is possible but is not in my skill set.

    I have emailed a few mod sites without a positive response.

    Anyone know someone who can do this ? Preferably in the UK for a fair price ?

  2. #2
    Done with Sega-16 (sorta) Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,636
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Depends on which SG-1000 II you have actually. Some can be modded for RGB but others have a discrete TMS9918 and hence can't be modded, so I'd check your system first.

  3. #3
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Finally got around to opening up my SG and unfortunately it does have a TMS9918 chip so looks like that rules out the RGB mod.
    Any other ideas to get it working on a PAL TV ? Or am I better selling it on and getting a SC-3000 or Mark III instead ?

  4. #4
    Raging in the Streets Thierry Henry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    2,629
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sut View Post
    and have a Japanese SG-1000 Mark 2 which being an RF console doesn't work on my PAL TV (crt).
    What RF connection were you trying to use?

    This here works perfectly for me.


    Quote Originally Posted by soviet View Post
    We believe! SEGA Empire will live again, like the Jews re-establish their Israeli, GOD will never forget his people, SEGA will never forget his fans.

  5. #5
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I've got one of those somewhere I will try again and report back.

  6. #6
    Raging in the Streets Thierry Henry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    2,629
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sut View Post
    I've got one of those somewhere I will try again and report back.
    Betcha it will work.
    Just need to obviously tune the relevant channel on your TV to pick up the picture.

    I use that connection for a bunch of systems incl the C64, Intellivision, Famicom, etc, etc.
    Quote Originally Posted by soviet View Post
    We believe! SEGA Empire will live again, like the Jews re-establish their Israeli, GOD will never forget his people, SEGA will never forget his fans.

  7. #7
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Never thought it could be a naff cable I was using. I am now using an identical cable to yours.

    On my two CRT TV's I'm getting a black and white picture with slight noise interference. On my LCD modern TV I get a colour picture but massive noise interference. So some progress but not there yet.

  8. #8
    Raging in the Streets Thierry Henry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    2,629
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sut View Post
    On my two CRT TV's I'm getting a black and white picture with slight noise interference. On my LCD modern TV I get a colour picture but massive noise interference.
    On those respective TV's is that the best possible picture you can get?
    I ask because sometimes the tuner will pick up the first "workable" image and set to that.
    Quote Originally Posted by soviet View Post
    We believe! SEGA Empire will live again, like the Jews re-establish their Israeli, GOD will never forget his people, SEGA will never forget his fans.

  9. #9
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Nah still black and white I've tried the VCR trick Mark uses on CGR but same result. Both my old VCR's don't go to channel 96 (it may be different on UK VCR's anyway) so end up getting same black and white picture.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •