Quantcast

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 57

Thread: Someone can fix this Prince of Persia 2 (Proto) Bug?

  1. #16
    Raging in the Streets goldenband's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,219
    Rep Power
    86

    Default

    What a great outcome for this thread! Sega-16 at its best.

  2. #17
    Road Rasher Mad Moham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    474
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Awesome!

    Now I have to wonder why the proto had that bug in the first place, it doesn't make sense to me. Great job Tony, and its a good thing that LinkueiBR never gave up on the idea.

    I'll get round to playing POP2 next I think.

  3. #18
    Road Rasher EPSYLON EAGLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    478
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks Guys!


    Now the in-game bgm is totally awful!

  4. #19
    WCPO Agent LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    821
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Tony H. today, i tested the game with your code, unfortunately, your code make the doors of all the levels opened by default and this turn impossible to finish the 2nd dungeon stage that skuls follow you just after you open the Door to the next level.
    There's really no way to make a code in the horse level that when you did the last platform jump to the cutscene?
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Shadow of the Beast II - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2275/

    Sunset Riders - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2287/

    Turrican - Fixed:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2535/

  5. #20
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,033
    Rep Power
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LinkueiBR View Post
    Tony H. today, i tested the game with your code, unfortunately, your code make the doors of all the levels opened by default and this turn impossible to finish the 2nd dungeon stage that skuls follow you just after you open the Door to the next level.
    There's really no way to make a code in the horse level that when you did the last platform jump to the cutscene?
    I will check that out and see if it's possible. My guess is that there is something that needs to be activated in that lower level that you can get to by breaking floor tiles in the horse screen. I'm thinking that's the answer because you have to go to the end of the level, drop down to the lower level and then work your way back. When you finally climb back up to the upper level, you are only one screen away from the door.

    This code is probably going to be much more difficult to make. Will keep you posted.

  6. #21
    WCPO Agent LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    821
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    I will check that out and see if it's possible. My guess is that there is something that needs to be activated in that lower level that you can get to by breaking floor tiles in the horse screen. I'm thinking that's the answer because you have to go to the end of the level, drop down to the lower level and then work your way back. When you finally climb back up to the upper level, you are only one screen away from the door.

    This code is probably going to be much more difficult to make. Will keep you posted.
    I played all the versions of this game even the crappy snes version (that have this same prototype level layout) and explore all this prototype horse level. Unfortunately, there's really no way to exit the level without your amazing code.

    Well, i have an idea for a code, but a bit complex that probably will be VERY hard to make. Here's my idea:
    The code need to detect the Prince Y cordinate in the horse screen. If the player Y cordinate is on the 3rd floor height, the code make a "goto" to the cutscene with the prince falling over the horse (like in the SNES version).
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Shadow of the Beast II - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2275/

    Sunset Riders - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2287/

    Turrican - Fixed:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2535/

  7. #22
    WCPO Agent LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    821
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EPSYLON EAGLE View Post
    Thanks Guys!


    Now the in-game bgm is totally awful!
    Yeah, sounds so unfinished and "PC beeper to YM2612"
    I could redo the music of this game in deflemask/vgm music maker but i don't think that was easy to insert a vgm file in to a unknow sound driver...
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Shadow of the Beast II - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2275/

    Sunset Riders - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2287/

    Turrican - Fixed:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2535/

  8. #23
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,033
    Rep Power
    32

    Default

    Some good news... I think we finally have a code that does exactly what you've wanted from the very beginning. This code allows you to jump onto the horse from the previous screen. I don't know how to run across the top of the screen without falling, so I've only been able to test the code by standing on the last platform and jumping (by pressing A + Left). He jumps left to the next screen and lands on the horse, and then rides off to the next level. You can also use the "walk on air" code I posted and just walk across the top and onto the horse without any problems, but that really takes the challenge out of it.

    If you are going to use the standing jump method I described above, here are some tips on how to get it to work. You have to position yourself as far left as possible without falling in order to make the jump. Once you're on the far left platform (good spot to make a save state), pressing A will make you jump up and move forward a tiny bit. You'll probably need to do this at least once or twice until you're exactly positioned. Here's a screen shot that shows the correct position...

    Attachment 13717

    Once you're all the way to the left, press A + Left together to jump to the horse.

    LinkueiBR, can you do me a favor? Can you try running across the top and do a running jump to the next screen and see if you land on the horse. I don't know how to do that without falling.

    Anyways, here's the code:

    RF1T-A6VW
    Improved level 9 bug fix. Fixes the bug in level 9 where there is no way to exit to the next level. Go to the second to last screen just before the horse while up on top of the platforms. Go to the left most platform as far left as you can go without falling off. Press A + Left together to jump to the next screen and you will land on the horse and ride off to the next level.

    Will add a better code description once I get all the details figured out.
    Last edited by Tony H; 11-26-2017 at 10:46 PM. Reason: Changed/updated code description.

  9. #24
    WCPO Agent LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    821
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    Some good news... I think we finally have a code that does exactly what you've wanted from the very beginning. This code allows you to jump onto the horse from the previous screen. I don't know how to run across the top of the screen without falling, so I've only been able to test the code by standing on the last platform and jumping (by pressing A + Left). He jumps left to the next screen and lands on the horse, and then rides off to the next level. You can also use the "walk on air" code I posted and just walk across the top and onto the horse without any problems, but that really takes the challenge out of it.

    If you are going to use the standing jump method I described above, here are some tips on how to get it to work. You have to position yourself as far left as possible without falling in order to make the jump. Once you're on the far left platform (good spot to make a save state), pressing A will make you jump up and move forward a tiny bit. You'll probably need to do this at least once or twice until you're exactly positioned. Here's a screen shot that shows the correct position...

    Attachment 13717

    Once you're all the way to the left, press A + Left together to jump to the horse.

    LinkueiBR, can you do me a favor? Can you try running across the top and do a running jump to the next screen and see if you land on the horse. I don't know how to do that without falling.

    Anyways, here's the code:

    RF1T-A6VW
    Improved level 9 bug fix.

    Will add a better code description once I get all the details figured out.
    YOU DID IT TONY, EXACTLY HOW WAS PLANNED TO BE!!!
    NO WORDS TO THANK YOU!

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    LinkueiBR, can you do me a favor? Can you try running across the top and do a running jump to the next screen and see if you land on the horse. I don't know how to do that without falling.
    In the SNES version and on this prototype there's no way to make the running jump cause its only 1 plataform (to make a running jump in POP2 you need 2 plataforms to get the space needed) so you way to get the horse is the right way.

    I have a question, how do you make this code? It's an desactivated event that was simply activated with your game genie code or you did a code based on my idea?

    Now all the Genesis/Mega Drive owners could enjoy a finished Prince of Persia 2 Shadow and the Flame how was planned to be.
    I will start a color hack right now to make this game colors more accurate to the MS DOS.

    Thanks Tony!

    NOW THE HORSE LEVEL WORKS THE WAY THAT WAS PLANNED:
    Last edited by LinkueiBR; 11-26-2017 at 05:36 PM.
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Shadow of the Beast II - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2275/

    Sunset Riders - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2287/

    Turrican - Fixed:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2535/

  10. #25
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,033
    Rep Power
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LinkueiBR View Post
    I have a question, how do you make this code? It's an desactivated event that was simply activated with your game genie code or you did a code based on my idea?
    I made the code by using a special emulator that lets me record all of the programming that's going on in the background into a log file. I used my "walk on air" code and positioned myself up top at the very left edge of the screen, and started the recording of the programming and then took one step to the left into the next screen where the horse is located, and then turned the programming recording off. I now have about 2 seconds of the game's programming recorded into a huge log file, and the code I'm looking for might be in that log file somewhere. In this case, the programming to jump on the horse and go to the next level was already there, but it was not receiving the correct value to activate it. The Game Genie code just forces it to accept any value as the correct one.

    Here is what the programming (called Assembly Language) looks like for the part that checks to see if it has the correct value to enable the horse exit scene...

    00:6F2C 0C 6D CMPI.W #$0028,$CA4A(A5) A0=00FF3296 A1=00FF748C A2=0000029C A3=00000000 A4=00000000 A5=00FF7FFE A6=00FF748C A7=00FF7484 D0=00000014 D1=FFFF0009 D2=00000000 D3=00000000 D4=00000002 D5=00000000 D6=00000000 D7=00000000 xnZvc

    00:6F32 66 06 BNE #$06 [00:6F3A] A0=00FF3296 A1=00FF748C A2=0000029C A3=00000000 A4=00000000 A5=00FF7FFE A6=00FF748C A7=00FF7484 D0=00000014 D1=FFFF0009 D2=00000000 D3=00000000 D4=00000002 D5=00000000 D6=00000000 D7=00000000 xNzvC

  11. #26
    WCPO Agent LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    821
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    I made the code by using a special emulator that lets me record all of the programming that's going on in the background into a log file. I used my "walk on air" code and positioned myself up top at the very left edge of the screen, and started the recording of the programming and then took one step to the left into the next screen where the horse is located, and then turned the programming recording off. I now have about 2 seconds of the game's programming recorded into a huge log file, and the code I'm looking for might be in that log file somewhere. In this case, the programming to jump on the horse and go to the next level was already there, but it was not receiving the correct value to activate it. The Game Genie code just forces it to accept any value as the correct one.

    Here is what the programming (called Assembly Language) looks like for the part that checks to see if it has the correct value to enable the horse exit scene...

    00:6F2C 0C 6D CMPI.W #$0028,$CA4A(A5) A0=00FF3296 A1=00FF748C A2=0000029C A3=00000000 A4=00000000 A5=00FF7FFE A6=00FF748C A7=00FF7484 D0=00000014 D1=FFFF0009 D2=00000000 D3=00000000 D4=00000002 D5=00000000 D6=00000000 D7=00000000 xnZvc

    00:6F32 66 06 BNE #$06 [00:6F3A] A0=00FF3296 A1=00FF748C A2=0000029C A3=00000000 A4=00000000 A5=00FF7FFE A6=00FF748C A7=00FF7484 D0=00000014 D1=FFFF0009 D2=00000000 D3=00000000 D4=00000002 D5=00000000 D6=00000000 D7=00000000 xNzvC


    Up your codes here:
    https://gamehacking.org/game/15702?game=15702
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Shadow of the Beast II - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2275/

    Sunset Riders - Enhanced Colors:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2287/

    Turrican - Fixed:
    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2535/

  12. #27
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,033
    Rep Power
    32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LinkueiBR View Post
    Yes, as soon as I get the code description figured out.

    I have a question... In the video you posted, it shows you inching forward a tiny bit. How do you do that?

  13. #28
    Road Rasher Mad Moham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    474
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    I have a question... In the video you posted, it shows you inching forward a tiny bit. How do you do that?
    Hold B while moving, he'll inch forward one step at a time and stop if he hits an obstacle or large drop.

  14. #29
    Outrunner
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    652
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    upload an .ips to RH !
    Lists of MD games: officially licensed (~915) @ cartridge size milestones @ Top 5 @ Top 250 (controversial) @ Sonic hacks @ best title screens @ Arcade ports (150)

  15. #30
    The Gentleman Thief Baloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5,368
    Rep Power
    80

    Default

    This is one of the most fascinating things I've ever seen. Never knew that someone could theoretically code a fix to a broken game mechanic in a prototype. Imagine the possibilities. I saw this thread and honestly thought it wasn't possible. Nice job Tony.
    Quote Originally Posted by j_factor View Post
    The Sega Saturn was God's gift to humanity. This is inarguable fact!
    Quote Originally Posted by llj View Post
    Count me as someone who never liked the Turbo/Hyper Fighting iterations of Street Fighter 2. The speed ups always struck me as too "Benny Hill".


    Feedback Thread: http://www.sega-16.com/forum/showthr...ack&highlight=

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •