Quantcast

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 104

Thread: OVERDRIVE II

  1. #61
    Road Rasher Oerg866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Frankfurt am Main (Germany)
    Age
    24
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I have a MD-Pro 64M myself, I will investigate this.

  2. #62
    Master of Shinobi Sik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2,091
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    Note that several flashcarts are hardcoded to enable it only with Super Street Fighter II itself. In those cases you'll need to edit the ROM header so they think it's that game.

    EDIT: and some may hardcode it to work with only 5MB instead of the whole memory. In which case, ouch.

  3. #63
    Road Rasher Oerg866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Frankfurt am Main (Germany)
    Age
    24
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pha View Post
    Also, I try with a Tototek md-pro 64m flashed with "DreamWriter (GENESIS) v2.1" without problem, and I have a SSFII mapper warning message (on MD2 in 50hz) , and nothing else

    FYI, Tototek md-pro 64m hardware based for this test (the support for SSFII mapper is possible in this revison or not ?) :

    FLASH : Intel E28F640 J3A120
    CMOS RAM : HM628128A by Hitachi
    CPLD : XILINX XC95144XL
    Can you try flashing this ROM (Might have to use ucon64 because of the file size) ?

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/9luvgaf9bj...map8m.bin?dl=1

    (Please disconnect 32X and/or Mega CD before trying this ROM!)

    I wasn't able to test it myself yet because I need to set up the parallel port on my machine, but maybe this works.

    PS:

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...DCBBV8saY8/pub

    Here is the first in a series of follow-ups, explaining some of the specifics in the hardware we've discovered.
    Last edited by Oerg866; 04-19-2017 at 07:53 PM.

  4. #64
    Genesis Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    5,720
    Rep Power
    52

    Default

    Any info on the "largely undocumented" register?

  5. #65
    Road Rasher Oerg866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Frankfurt am Main (Germany)
    Age
    24
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Literally in the post above yours :P

  6. #66
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training Pha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Oerg866 View Post
    Can you try flashing this ROM (Might have to use ucon64 because of the file size) ?

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/9luvgaf9bj...map8m.bin?dl=1

    (Please disconnect 32X and/or Mega CD before trying this ROM!)

    I wasn't able to test it myself yet because I need to set up the parallel port on my machine, but maybe this works.

    PS:

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...DCBBV8saY8/pub

    Here is the first in a series of follow-ups, explaining some of the specifics in the hardware we've discovered.
    I flashed the rom "overdrive2-flatmap8m.bin" without problem.

    For the next, on original Megadrive II hardware:
    -MOTHERBOARD : PC BD MD2 VA0 PAL
    -VDP/ASIC CHIP : SEGA 315-5660.
    -MODEL NO :MK-1631-50 (MALAYSIA)
    -RATING : DC10V 0.85A


    This MD2 is modified with a classic two on-off manual switch "ENG/JAP" & "50/60Hz".

    No hardware extensions (32x, Mega-CD, or others) just the MD2 + ToToTeK MD-Pro 64 (revision?), results :

    -Switch ENG/50Hz (default) : TMSS and black screen.
    -Switch JAP/50Hz : TMSS and black screen.
    -Switch JAP/60Hz : TMSS and I can see on the TITANCADE room with the message "game over this demo requires PAL/50HZ".
    -Switch ENG/60Hz : TMSS and I can see on the TITANCADE room with the message "game over this demo requires PAL/50HZ".

    I can test others rom

  7. #67
    Genesis Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    5,720
    Rep Power
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Oerg866 View Post
    Literally in the post above yours :P
    Whoops.

  8. #68
    Road Rasher Oerg866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Frankfurt am Main (Germany)
    Age
    24
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Pha: I will investigate today. I hope I can fix it for the MD-Pro 64 at least...

  9. #69
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    12,977
    Rep Power
    116

    Default

    Well if the ROM can't be released in NTSC, is there any way Strobe could release one of just the sound/music? Or would it run too fast on an NTSC console? Love to give that a listen on my personal hardware.

  10. #70
    Wildside Expert CrossBow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ivory Tower Collections
    Posts
    204
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    I'm willing to actually apply the 3-wire region mode switch to my genesis if it means I can get the Overdrive demos on actual carts! My TV already handles a 50hz signal so that would be very cool!

  11. #71
    Raging in the Streets SEGA.GENESIS1989's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,213
    Rep Power
    64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Redifer View Post
    Well if the ROM can't be released in NTSC, is there any way Strobe could release one of just the sound/music? Or would it run too fast on an NTSC console? Love to give that a listen on my personal hardware.
    +1
    "There's nothing to fear, except fear itself"
    http://i1054.photobucket.com/albums/s486/link2link2link/YUZOKOSHIROISAGODNEOSEEDEDITION.gif

  12. #72
    Road Rasher Oerg866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Frankfurt am Main (Germany)
    Age
    24
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrossBow View Post
    I'm willing to actually apply the 3-wire region mode switch to my genesis if it means I can get the Overdrive demos on actual carts! My TV already handles a 50hz signal so that would be very cool!
    PM me your e-mail address and I will put you on the list.

  13. #73
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training Pha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Redifer View Post
    Well if the ROM can't be released in NTSC, is there any way Strobe could release one of just the sound/music? Or would it run too fast on an NTSC console? Love to give that a listen on my personal hardware.
    ...an updating version of "Fusion 3.64 by Steve Snake, 2010 v3.65" or equivalent emulator for TiTAN Overdrive II ROM with "Sound\Log VGM File" option for this

  14. #74
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training Pha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Today, I appreciate testing Overdrive II ROM (original release v1) with "blastem-win32-0.5.0-pre-0849e9356bfe (nightlies build) !

    The visual aspect is not perfect (and one fatal failure during the demo) but work in progress, for KEGA FUSION emulator who seems definitely compromised and Carpeludum ws or not in spite of years ? http://www.carpeludum.com/kega-fusion/.

  15. #75
    Outrunner
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Azeitão - PT
    Age
    30
    Posts
    721
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Blastem, Genesis Plus GX are under active development, Exodus was until a while ago, now it's in some sort of sleep. So it's expectable that at somepoint these 2(3) or other new ones will support the demo fully.
    The remaining emulators you can pretty much forget about them as they come from a time where the understanding of the system was much less than now and they are not active anymore and most of them reject the rom immediately because it's "too big".

    At any rate, a physical release will be available later.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •