Quantcast

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: Finally found a rev. 00 Super Hang On

  1. #1
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    222
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Finally found a rev. 00 Super Hang On

    I was shopping at one of my local game stores and they had a very nice condition Super Hang On complete in box for $15. Of course, there's no way to tell if it's the first revision until you play it, but this one still had the original Altered Beast poster in the box, so I figured my odds were pretty good. Sure enough, it's a first revision. I already own one of the later revisions, so I'm glad I was right about this one.

    I know the first revisions aren't uncommon, but unless someone is specifically selling it as such, there's no way to know.

  2. #2
    CORD NAME: BLACK-FIRE Hedgehog-in-TrainingWildside Expert Goati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    145
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    what's the difference between the two(or more) revisions?
    Since 2014, I livestream a show called Mega Marathon here www.twitch.tv/goati_ and it's about beating every single MD game, all regions, homebrews, unreleased, etc., while being informative.
    With a 68000 heart on fire.

  3. #3
    Raging in the Streets
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4,150
    Rep Power
    66

    Default

    REV01 has tighter steering control making it more difficult to drift off-course.

    Also REV00 has the fake Marlboro logo from Super Monaco GP, this was changed in REV01

  4. #4
    Banned by Administrators
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    spaghetti
    Age
    39
    Posts
    5,994
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Isn't the uncapped frame rate smoother or something in rev 00.

  5. #5
    Hero of Algol
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7,703
    Rep Power
    174

    Default

    Rev00 hasn't the frame rate locked at 20 fps (max) nor has the Marlboro-like (and others) billboards censored, and its handling is closer to the arcade (tougher).

    IDK about Rev01 but Rev00's CPU bike waves are *exactly* the same ones of the arcade.

    This is a superb port of masterpiece disguised as "mediocre" due to the MD not being able to run it above 20 fps at stock clock and its handling being far more difficult to grasp than OutRun's.

  6. #6
    Road Rasher Chimaera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    480
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Interesting thread! I'll have to figure out what version my cart is.

  7. #7
    16-bits is all he needs Master of Shinobi matteus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,308
    Rep Power
    59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barone View Post
    Rev00 hasn't the frame rate locked at 20 fps (max) nor has the Marlboro-like (and others) billboards censored, and its handling is closer to the arcade (tougher).

    IDK about Rev01 but Rev00's CPU bike waves are *exactly* the same ones of the arcade.

    This is a superb port of masterpiece disguised as "mediocre" due to the MD not being able to run it above 20 fps at stock clock and its handling being far more difficult to grasp than OutRun's.
    Is the locked FPS for performance?


  8. #8
    Hero of Algol
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7,703
    Rep Power
    174

    Default

    Yes, I think so. They tried to make the frame rate less unstable on Rev01. But it still feels slowwww, especially on some more complex tracks when playing on harder difficulty setting (puts more CPU bikes on screen) - it dips under 15 fps IIRC.

  9. #9
    Raging in the Streets Sik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3,532
    Rep Power
    64

    Default

    Constantly switching between high and low framerate is probably going to be jarring as heck. It's the main reason why modern AAA console games lock framerate even if they can run faster. At least a drip from 20FPS to 15FPS is not anywhere as bad as from e.g. 60FPS to 30FPS (that's the main idea behind framerate locking, go as high as you can that won't cause framerate drips all the time).

  10. #10
    Banned by Administrators
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    spaghetti
    Age
    39
    Posts
    5,994
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    60 to 30fps drops, where you see that?

  11. #11
    Nonconformist Hedgehog-in-TrainingWCPO Agent EyeDeeNo76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    97km north of New York City
    Age
    42
    Posts
    886
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    According to the site The Cutting Room Floor there is unused Sega art at the SEGA logo screen only found in REV00.
    The 1988 Sega logo art can be seen in VRAM, after the 1989 Sega logo screen, but after a split-second it gets overwritten by numbers.



    This string is found in the ROM header at 1C8, only in REV00




    Edit: Got to thinking about this, what the hell is a 1988 SEGA logo?
    Anything like image below?



    Last edited by EyeDeeNo76; 10-29-2017 at 01:18 PM.

  12. #12
    For great justice! Outrunner Tor Landeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    38
    Posts
    567
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barone View Post
    Rev00 hasn't the frame rate locked at 20 fps (max)
    Does this mean Rev00 is better to play when using an overclocked MD?
    ***** トル・ランディール ******
    Cadash Arcade Colors hack:
    https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3905/
    Out Run Arcade Colors hack:
    https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3940/
    *****************************

  13. #13
    Nameless One
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    78
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    from the Mega Games 1, I remember both the Malboro fake ads and the slowdows. is that one a Rev00 ?

    there are videos on toutube showing a 10mhz mod and S.Hang On runs was smoother

  14. #14
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    308
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thief View Post
    60 to 30fps drops, where you see that?
    Vsync does that when framrate drops.

  15. #15
    For great justice! Outrunner Tor Landeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    38
    Posts
    567
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tor Landeel View Post
    Does this mean Rev00 is better to play when using an overclocked MD?
    In case someone is interested, I tested it. REV00 with a 10mhz mod is blazing fast in some parts, but the framerate is still very jumpy so it becomes a bit difficult to play because of these inconsistencies.
    In REV01 there's almost no difference if overclocked or not.
    ***** トル・ランディール ******
    Cadash Arcade Colors hack:
    https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3905/
    Out Run Arcade Colors hack:
    https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3940/
    *****************************

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •