Quantcast

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33

Thread: My only 32x game doesn't load...

  1. #16
    The Gaming Gangsta Master of Shinobi profholt82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,854
    Rep Power
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EyeDeeNo76 View Post
    I almost never enjoy messing around with ribbon cables.
    Almost never, but every once in a while it just feels right. I'm the same way with briefs.

  2. #17
    Nonconformist Hedgehog-in-TrainingWCPO Agent EyeDeeNo76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    97km north of New York City
    Age
    42
    Posts
    882
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Yeah the older bigger ribbon cables.

    Roomy boxers too.

  3. #18
    Road Rasher gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    293
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigEvilCorporation View Post
    Those ribbon cables are almost always to blame, and yes your Genesis games can still work fine even the cables are dodgy, making diagnosis tricky. Open it up, unplug them, plug them back in, enjoy.

    I've only got dev units but they suffer from the same problem - Mega Drive games work fine, 32X games need the ribbon cables wobbling occasionally.
    I did unplug them and plugged them back (well only the end close to the cartridge slot) and no luck. Soon I will have the opportunity to try out with an other 32x game..wait and see!

  4. #19
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    456
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Good luck! I'd still recommend opening up the cartridge, especially if it doesn't work on the other 32X. The tools EyeDeeNo76 mentioned is probably the best route, but there are ways around it if you don't want to buy anything (burning the tip of a mechanical pencil and molding it to the screw is how I opened a GameBoy cartridge to put in a new battery once).

  5. #20
    Nameless One
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    86
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Can you post pics of how your 32x is hooked up? I might have a few ideas about what the problem might be but I'll need more info in order to help you with your problem.

  6. #21
    Road Rasher gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    293
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    I could do this later definitly...you want to see the ribbon?

  7. #22
    Nameless One
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    86
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gamer888 View Post
    I could do this later definitly...you want to see the ribbon?
    No I need to see the cables you're actually plugging into the back of the Mega Drive and 32x itself, from what you described in your first post it sounds to me like you might only be using an AC adapter to power the Mega Drive but not one to power the 32x as well (you can play normal Mega Drive games powering only the Mega Drive and not the 32x but in order to play 32x games both the Mega Drive and 32x have to be plugged up at the same time).

  8. #23
    Road Rasher gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    293
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    oh I see....no I am using the other cables as well. My genesis and my 32x are plugged with two separate psu, my rgb video cable is connected to the 32x AV out while I have this cable from the genesis av out to the 32x av in.
    Thanks for your concern though. I should receive soon an other 32x game to test the mushroom.

  9. #24
    Road Rasher gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    293
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    I was wondering whether it was possible for a genesis 2 to be incompatible with the 32x or at least preventing it to work from time to time depending on the model/board of the said genesis 2????

  10. #25
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    456
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Funny you ask. What's the model number for your model 2? I acquired a Majesco-distributed model 2 a couple of days ago. A co-worker of mine just gave it to me, and it has always been something I've looked out for and never found. I hooked it up to my 32X and Sega CD and... no dice. The sound worked great, but no picture displayed for either 32X or Sega CD games or for Genesis games through the 32X. However, when I unhooked the 32X, Genesis games worked perfectly. I hooked up my other model 2 that was hooked up to them previously, and everything worked perfectly.

  11. #26
    Outrunner Eep386's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Not far from Sacramento
    Posts
    521
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Does your 32X need the terminator on the Sega CD / Expansion port?

  12. #27
    Road Rasher gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    293
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    I checked the instruction manual....and it doesn't refer to this terminator. But I have tried on a genesis 1 and no luck at all..I sold the system. I didn't loose that much but it was quite frustrating actually. Two genesis models, no 32x games coud work..maybe it was the 32x cartridge....maybe not but at some point you kinda give up. I will invest more in my genesis games then!!I am eyeing Mega Turrican but ouch.

  13. #28
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    456
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    That's too bad, but if investing in Genesis games is your backup plan, I'd say you're in pretty good shape.

  14. #29
    Road Rasher gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    293
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    I wanted the 32x mostly for Virtua Fighter and NBA JAM TE (and a bit Virtua Racing and Kolibri). I consider myself happy for I have a NBA JAM copy featuring Barkley!!

  15. #30
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    456
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    You mean you didn't want it for the 32X enhanced Supreme Warrior?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •