Quantcast

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sg-1000 I or SG-1000 II and RF?

  1. #1
    Wildside Expert gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    4

    Default Sg-1000 I or SG-1000 II and RF?

    I might get either one of those..more likely the Sg-1000 II (not the mark III, I have had it before).

    But I know or at least I think, plugging such system on a LCD TV in Europe offers a few challenges such as:

    -there is no plug possible between the system's RF and the TV's RF
    -even if it plugs, it might just not work
    -if it works, the picture will be very dark or shaking.

    Can someone help me with this??Is there a way to play the sg-1000 II on a EU TV???On the same TV I can play my genesis, my coregrafx (both with RGBs) or the famicom AV without any issue.

  2. #2
    Raging in the Streets Thierry Henry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    2,627
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gamer888 View Post
    I might get either one of those..more likely the Sg-1000 II (not the mark III, I have had it before).

    But I know or at least I think, plugging such system on a LCD TV in Europe offers a few challenges such as:

    -there is no plug possible between the system's RF and the TV's RF
    What do you mean no "plug possible"? You don't have one of these?





    Picture is fine on an LCD.
    Quote Originally Posted by soviet View Post
    We believe! SEGA Empire will live again, like the Jews re-establish their Israeli, GOD will never forget his people, SEGA will never forget his fans.

  3. #3
    Wildside Expert gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    I used to have a mark III with a few RF-related cables.....none of them plugged in my TV's RF but maybe I didn't have the one you pictured. Assuming it plugs right, I won't have any trouble playing a sg-1000 I or II on my TV??No super dark pictures??I heard that japanese system plugged with RF won't work at all on western TVs but maybe I misunderstood this info??

  4. #4
    Raging in the Streets Thierry Henry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    2,627
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gamer888 View Post
    I used to have a mark III with a few RF-related cables.....none of them plugged in my TV's RF but maybe I didn't have the one you pictured. Assuming it plugs right, I won't have any trouble playing a sg-1000 I or II on my TV??No super dark pictures??I heard that japanese system plugged with RF won't work at all on western TVs but maybe I misunderstood this info??
    I own a SG-1000 II, so I can speak specifically about that.
    A while back I was playing Sinbad Mystery (it's a kind of Pac-Man clone). Had it hooked up via RF to a Sony Bravia LCD.
    The picture quality was more than acceptable. Visuals were fine. None of that super dark image issues that you refer to.
    Quote Originally Posted by soviet View Post
    We believe! SEGA Empire will live again, like the Jews re-establish their Israeli, GOD will never forget his people, SEGA will never forget his fans.

  5. #5
    Wildside Expert gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Thanks for sharing your experience. And this was on a European TV?does the PAL/SECAM thing remain relevant?I know this standards are now gone with LCD but just wondering.

  6. #6
    Raging in the Streets Thierry Henry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    2,627
    Rep Power
    79

    Default

    I have never personally owned a TV that hasn't been multi-system. Even my CRT's are from a more modern vintage. So I can't speak to incompatibilities with regard to that.
    The only exception being the PAL-M signal which has never been fully compatible with our TV's over here. You get picture and sound but the visuals are all in black & white.

    But the RF standard is the same here as you'd find in European TV's. Same type of connector needed, unlike that screw on thing that you get in the States.
    Quote Originally Posted by soviet View Post
    We believe! SEGA Empire will live again, like the Jews re-establish their Israeli, GOD will never forget his people, SEGA will never forget his fans.

  7. #7
    Wildside Expert gamer888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    208
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    So japanese systems are compatible with European TVs but not US ones??Interesting..I am quite cluless about RF (as you might have found out..)

  8. #8
    Master of Shinobi Blades's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,435
    Rep Power
    60

    Default

    Japanese systems are compatible with US TVs and by extension European TVs compatible with the Japanese/US standard.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •