Quantcast

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Knuckles Chaotix sucks

  1. #1
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germantown, Maryland
    Posts
    232
    Rep Power
    6

    Default Knuckles Chaotix sucks

    I got a 32x recently with this and Virtua Fighter. But damn, Chaotix is a buggy game. Considering its the last proper 2D kinda ĎSonicí game, you would think it would run great on the 32x. I notice more slowdown than any other Genesis Sonic game. Feels like every level you are half underwater. Falling through special stages for no reason. Occasion screen flicking and music stuttering when itís loading anything from the title screen and in some other areas. And whatís wrong with this games physics? The Sonic Crackers demo runs way smoother than this game. Itís a beautiful game otherwise with mostly good music. Feels rushed otherwise.

    BTW I read that a lot of people have problems with this game not running properly on their setup. Works perfectly on my va2 model 1 Genesis without those useless metal clips. Itís a va1 32x without a SEGA cd attached. 3 hours straight and no lock ups.
    Last edited by Salduchi; 11-08-2019 at 02:56 PM. Reason: Moving to the 32x forum

  2. #2
    Outrunner Chibisteven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    521
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    I don't know why this post is in the tech aid section.

    I enjoy Chaotix actually.

    Chaotix works nicely on all but one Sega Genesis I own. The stinker I own is a model 2 VA2.3. Some Genesis' out there have hardware problems that this game can make obvious.

  3. #3
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germantown, Maryland
    Posts
    232
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chibisteven View Post
    I don't know why this post is in the tech aid section.
    Sorry. I was looking for a technical answer as to why this game doesnít seem to run well that got buried by my opinion.

  4. #4
    Outrunner Chibisteven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    521
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Salduchi View Post
    Sorry. I was looking for a technical answer as to why this game doesnít seem to run well that got buried by my opinion.
    As I said it probably boils down to hardware problems more than anything because that same Genesis (model 2 VA2.3) with the 32X will cause Sonic 3D Blast to crash repeatedly and S-Monitor glitch in S3K stops working with the 32X attached. Heck the machine will sometimes play no PCM samples if Streets of Rages is being played regardless if the 32X is attached. Supposedly there's a faulty something in there. Chaotix will freeze on that Genesis to the point you can't even get past the title screen or make it beyond the SEGA logo as well. The machine does behave better when it been used for a few hours.

    The same 32X unit on another Genesis has none of those problems.

    I think Chaotix puts a lot of demand on the Genesis hardware side and if the Genesis hardware can't take it, it fails. Most Genesis / 32X combos I tried don't appear to have any problems.

    I use the metal clips when setting my 32X up as it does help stabilize it a bit in some of my Genesis consoles but to each their own. I suppose the model 1 has more mass to keep it from moving back and forth but it definitely helps with stability in a model 2 along with the plastic spacer to reduce weight on the cart slot.

    My main Genesis is the model 1 VA3 and I have zero problems with Chaotix on that machine.

  5. #5
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,063
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    If the unit starts behaving better after being used for a few hours, then it is possible that it needs recapping.

  6. #6
    Outrunner Chibisteven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    521
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zyrobs View Post
    If the unit starts behaving better after being used for a few hours, then it is possible that it needs recapping.
    I have no interest in re-capping my model 2 (VA2.3) anytime soon and the shell on that one is in awful shape too. There maybe problems with the ICs that a re-cap probably won't fix. I might pick up another one in the future but I'm might ultimately prefer my model 1.

    I've re-capped my model 1 (VA3) and notice no changes in how it performs.

    I'm considering a 32X re-cap long-term because it is getting old but I don't have any problems with it and would prefer to wait a few years before tackling this.

    I'm working on getting a model 1 SEGA CD working but it's got some problems. I'll be re-capping that and replacing parts, etc. Or possibly picking up a second one that's in better shape and use the one I have right now for it's parts and re-cap a different one instead. I'm figuring it out as I go along on what it is that I want to do.

  7. #7
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germantown, Maryland
    Posts
    232
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    I just had a very weird issue with this game I have never seen before with any other game. The game locked up, but the music kept playing and the screen moved one frame like every 10 seconds or so. If I mashed the start button as fast as I could, the pause screen would pop up and the music would stop, but I had to hit start during that one rare frame when the screen would move. Super weird. Upon hitting the restart button (didnít have to turn the console totally off) everything was fine. Again, mine is a va2 model 1 Genesis
    Last edited by Salduchi; 11-11-2019 at 12:46 AM.

  8. #8
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,063
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chibisteven View Post
    I have no interest in re-capping my model 2 (VA2.3) anytime soon and the shell on that one is in awful shape too. There maybe problems with the ICs that a re-cap probably won't fix. I might pick up another one in the future but I'm might ultimately prefer my model 1.

    I've re-capped my model 1 (VA3) and notice no changes in how it performs.

    I'm considering a 32X re-cap long-term because it is getting old but I don't have any problems with it and would prefer to wait a few years before tackling this.

    I'm working on getting a model 1 SEGA CD working but it's got some problems. I'll be re-capping that and replacing parts, etc. Or possibly picking up a second one that's in better shape and use the one I have right now for it's parts and re-cap a different one instead. I'm figuring it out as I go along on what it is that I want to do.
    I'm not saying that you *should* recap the unit, I'm just saying that aging caps are known to cause such problems. The internal PLLs can get buggy with bad caps, which results in bad timing signals, which results in buggy behaviour. One symptom for that is the fact that after the machines "warm up" (ie. they have been running for a while), the problems lessen. Saturns are prone to this and I'd expect that Megadrives would start suffering from it too sooner or later - they don't need as tight timing to work due to being significantly less complex, but on the other hand they are also even older.

  9. #9
    Outrunner Chibisteven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    521
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zyrobs View Post
    I'm not saying that you *should* recap the unit, I'm just saying that aging caps are known to cause such problems. The internal PLLs can get buggy with bad caps, which results in bad timing signals, which results in buggy behaviour. One symptom for that is the fact that after the machines "warm up" (ie. they have been running for a while), the problems lessen. Saturns are prone to this and I'd expect that Megadrives would start suffering from it too sooner or later - they don't need as tight timing to work due to being significantly less complex, but on the other hand they are also even older.
    I did leave my model 2 (VA2.3) on almost 24/7 one summer in 1999 or something. It was the only Genesis I had up until either 2007 or 2008. It's since sits completely unused and almost never powered on anymore in the closet which is why I have zero interest in recapping it. It always had the Streets of Rage lack of percussion bug that will show up a lot and could be fixed by power cycles. It was less likely when it had been used.

    This explanation is certainly helpful and I didn't even consider it a possibility for 32X problems with my model 2 (VA2.3) or why Sonic 3D Blast will crash to the point it's unplayable when it's attached to that Genesis but not the other ones I own.

    I wonder when 6 generation consoles like the Dreamcast will start to needing new capacitors as these machines are around 20 years of age.
    Last edited by Chibisteven; 11-11-2019 at 04:32 PM.

  10. #10
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,063
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    The 32x does suffer from many other compatibility issues with various Megadrive units, I believe some of the Sega tech bulletins mention a few... I don't know if they specifically say anything for VA2.3 units, though.

  11. #11
    Outrunner Chibisteven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    521
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zyrobs View Post
    The 32x does suffer from many other compatibility issues with various Megadrive units, I believe some of the Sega tech bulletins mention a few... I don't know if they specifically say anything for VA2.3 units, though.
    It could just be the unit I have. I know the model 1 VA4 is incompatible with the 32X but can be fixed with a simple modification. I think it's strange that a model 2 Genesis from around 1995 would have 32X problems. Interestingly if I connect Sonic 3D Blast through a Game Genie the crashing actually stops with that Genesis when the 32X is attached but doesn't fix the S-monitor crash into S&K not working trick to get debug in S&K when the 32X is attached. I think it just has a combination of capacitor problems, faulty ICs, etc. Purchasing a second one could easily rule out everything. I have a Mega Everdrive X5, so if someone has written a utility that can stress test the Genesis' logical components a.k.a. digital side, it be helpful.
    Last edited by Chibisteven; 11-11-2019 at 09:18 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •