Quantcast

Page 36 of 136 FirstFirst ... 263233343536373839404686 ... LastLast
Results 526 to 540 of 2038

Thread: GUIDE: Telling apart good Genesis 1s and Genesis 2s from bad ones.

  1. #526
    Master of Shinobi ooXxXoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Here, There & Everywhere
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,097
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    It is an ASIC related issue...I've seen those bars in many revs..including those with the CX1645 and samsung encoders...Mainly, within the last Genesis 2 revs (except the Majesco ones)...

    EDIT:

    And the best Genesis model 2 board without any mods is the VA2.3 rev... (has a clean CX1645 encoder and a Yamaha 2612, no shitty audio amps):



    Although, some 2.3 revs, may have a samsung encoder as well, so beware..
    Last edited by ooXxXoo; 04-03-2010 at 01:41 AM.
    φΨήœ μΞΠΰ ε ψώ♪

  2. #527
    Creator of the Mega Amp Raging in the Streets Ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,737
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    The question remains: how is its volume balance between PSG, FM Synthesis, Sega CD PCM/CDDA and 32X PWM? Is the balance off like the VA2? More importantly, does the PSG come out distorted when playing Sega Master System games like the VA2? If the VA2.3 Genesis 2 has better sound than the VA2 Genesis 2, I'm going to have to hunt one down.

    Speaking of which, I have yet to provide a recording of Genesis and Master System games running on a VA2 Genesis 2 to compare the VA2.3 Genesis 2 to. I'll get to that tomorrow.
    HATES ATGAMES WITH A PASSION


    Mega Amp: An all-new audio circuit for your Sega Genesis/MegaDrive and clones.

    Note: If you want to contact me on Skype, identify yourself or your contact request will be rejected.

  3. #528
    Hero of Algol kool kitty89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    9,725
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    The VA3 and VA4 have decent audio amps though, and the superior ASIC YM2612 too. (less quantization noise, etc)

    I think the CDX has th ecleanest sound of any stock, ASIC based MD/Genesis incarnation though. (I believe X'Eye/Wondermega is good too, a bit better than the VA3/4/Genesis3/Nomad)
    6 days older than SEGA Genesis
    -------------
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    Dude its the bios that marries the 16 bit and the 8 bit that makes it 24 bit. If SNK released their double speed bios revision SNK would have had the worlds first 48 bit machine, IDK how you keep ignoring this.
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    the PCE, that system has no extra silicone for music, how many resources are used to make music and it has less sprites than the MD on screen at once but a larger sprite area?

  4. #529
    Master of Shinobi ooXxXoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Here, There & Everywhere
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,097
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kool kitty89 View Post
    The VA3 and VA4 have decent audio amps though, and the superior ASIC YM2612 too. (less quantization noise, etc)

    I think the CDX has th ecleanest sound of any stock, ASIC based MD/Genesis incarnation though. (I believe X'Eye/Wondermega is good too, a bit better than the VA3/4/Genesis3/Nomad)
    I've around 40 Genesis model 2's, never seen a VA3 or VA4 with a discrete YM2612...And the the best Genesis incarnation/ASIC based with the best sound is definitely the Pioneer LaserActive with Sega Pac...
    φΨήœ μΞΠΰ ε ψώ♪

  5. #530
    Hero of Algol kool kitty89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    9,725
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    I never said the VA3 or VA4 model 2 had discrete YM2612s... just that the Audio amps were pretty good, same for the Nomad and model 3 (albeit mono).

    Hence the mention of the superior ASIC based YM2612. (less quantization noise, etc)
    6 days older than SEGA Genesis
    -------------
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    Dude its the bios that marries the 16 bit and the 8 bit that makes it 24 bit. If SNK released their double speed bios revision SNK would have had the worlds first 48 bit machine, IDK how you keep ignoring this.
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    the PCE, that system has no extra silicone for music, how many resources are used to make music and it has less sprites than the MD on screen at once but a larger sprite area?

  6. #531
    Creator of the Mega Amp Raging in the Streets Ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,737
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kool kitty89 View Post
    I noticed that the sharpness control on our newer Sanyo flat CRT SDTV does almost nothing... However, I got into the service menu, an done of the parameters most definitely affected sharpness/filtering, so I changed that to as sharp as it could go. (as a side note I couldn't find any horizontal scan control, just vertical, so I couldn't properly adjust overscan as I'd hoped)
    I've been meaning to ask: how do you get to those service menus? Do Electrohome TVs have said service menu, and if so, how do I go about accessing it on my Electrohome TV(27E510)?
    HATES ATGAMES WITH A PASSION


    Mega Amp: An all-new audio circuit for your Sega Genesis/MegaDrive and clones.

    Note: If you want to contact me on Skype, identify yourself or your contact request will be rejected.

  7. #532
    Hero of Algol kool kitty89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    9,725
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    Some TVs require a code to be input from the remote, a button being held on while the TV is plugged in, etc. Try searching for your model online, short of that, search for common mechanism used for your brand.
    In my case, it was holding menu on the TV while I plugged the power cord in. (still couldn't find control for horizontal scan though...)
    6 days older than SEGA Genesis
    -------------
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    Dude its the bios that marries the 16 bit and the 8 bit that makes it 24 bit. If SNK released their double speed bios revision SNK would have had the worlds first 48 bit machine, IDK how you keep ignoring this.
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    the PCE, that system has no extra silicone for music, how many resources are used to make music and it has less sprites than the MD on screen at once but a larger sprite area?

  8. #533
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Age
    30
    Posts
    257
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Hey, what revision is this? This is a TMSS HDG model 1 I got from a forum member.



    Here's a shot of the video encoder. How is this one? I don't see it mentioned anywhere.

  9. #534
    Done with Sega-16 (sorta) Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,636
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BetaWolf47 View Post
    Hey, what revision is this? This is a TMSS HDG model 1 I got from a forum member.



    Here's a shot of the video encoder. How is this one? I don't see it mentioned anywhere.
    That Sony chip you pictured is for the audio, not the video. Look underneath the heat sink for another Sony chip; that will be the video encoder.

  10. #535
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Age
    30
    Posts
    257
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Is it? I thought that larger Yamaha YM2612 was for the audio. I'll have to double check sometime.

  11. #536
    oh, hello there WCPO Agent Robivy64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    957
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    That's the pre-amp for the headphone jack.

    This thread is full of PCB porno.

    I have more PCB porn in a photo album on my profile.
    Last edited by Robivy64; 04-05-2010 at 01:18 AM.

  12. #537
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Age
    30
    Posts
    257
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Sorry to ask more questions, but why does this unit need its RCA out pre-amped?

  13. #538
    Hero of Algol kool kitty89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    9,725
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BetaWolf47 View Post
    Sorry to ask more questions, but why does this unit need its RCA out pre-amped?
    For the headphone jack, not RCA output. (there's a separate mono amp for the A/V and RF output)
    6 days older than SEGA Genesis
    -------------
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    Dude its the bios that marries the 16 bit and the 8 bit that makes it 24 bit. If SNK released their double speed bios revision SNK would have had the worlds first 48 bit machine, IDK how you keep ignoring this.
    Quote Originally Posted by evilevoix View Post
    the PCE, that system has no extra silicone for music, how many resources are used to make music and it has less sprites than the MD on screen at once but a larger sprite area?

  14. #539
    Creator of the Mega Amp Raging in the Streets Ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,737
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BetaWolf47 View Post
    Hey, what revision is this? This is a TMSS HDG model 1 I got from a forum member.



    Here's a shot of the video encoder. How is this one? I don't see it mentioned anywhere.
    TMSS with that motherboard layout is an early VA6 Genesis 1 with the EXT port. If ever you find a Genesis or MegaDrive with that motherboard layout, but no TMSS, it's a VA5.

    And the chip you took a picture of is part of the audio circuit, not the video circuit. As mentioned before, video encoders on the Genesis Model 1 with motherboard revisions VA0 to VA6.8 are located under the heatsink the two voltage regulators are screwed to.
    HATES ATGAMES WITH A PASSION


    Mega Amp: An all-new audio circuit for your Sega Genesis/MegaDrive and clones.

    Note: If you want to contact me on Skype, identify yourself or your contact request will be rejected.

  15. #540
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Age
    30
    Posts
    257
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I feel like I'm nagging at this point, due to all my questions. But guys, is there any way to distinguish between a model 2 VA3 and VA4 without opening it up? I've got pics from a guy on craigslist that I want to buy from, and it is a 3/4 motherboard unit.

    Does this look like the output of a VA4?

    Looks pretty amazing to me.
    Last edited by BetaWolf47; 04-06-2010 at 10:25 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 4 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 4 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •