PDA

View Full Version : Q: Japan-only MD games OK to review?

Ghaleon
07-10-2006, 11:33 PM
Are reviews of non-U.S. games (such as Japan-only MegaDrive games) considered for posting, so long as they fall under the Genesis/MegaDrive, 32X, or Sega/Mega-CD umbrella?

I searched the site and forums for a definite answer, but didn't find anything concrete.

This is my first time to post, so although I've read the FAQs, please forgive any faux pas.

Thanks! :-)

David J.
07-10-2006, 11:38 PM
There's a few Japanese only games, like Pulseman on the site, so yeah. it's ok. :)

Ghaleon
07-10-2006, 11:57 PM
OK, thanks. Quick reply, too. :-)

I was lucky enough to happen across a handful of Japanese MD games at one of the used game stores I used to work at, and I'm considering submitting a review for Dangerous Seed (top-down shmup by Namcot -- their name had a "t" on the end at that time...).

I'm a huge shmup fan: anyone know of any other MD/M-CD top-down or side-scrolling shmups that were never released in the U.S.?

Joe Redifer
07-11-2006, 12:23 AM
I've never understood the whole Namco/Namcot thing. Were they on acid in Japan? All Namcot games that were brought over to the US were instead released by a company called Namco. I wonder if there was a Segat and Konamit as well as a Nintendot in Japan.

ThunderForce
07-11-2006, 12:29 AM
I've never understood the whole Namco/Namcot thing. Were they on acid in Japan? All Namcot games that were brought over to the US were instead released by a company called Namco. I wonder if there was a Segat and Konamit as well as a Nintendot in Japan.

Namcot was just Namco software people. Any Namco game in Japan back in the early 1990s has a T on it for it's a console game.

ThunderForce
07-11-2006, 12:31 AM
For shmups fans:

In Japan only:

Unline Dead
Fire Mustang
Slap Fight
Zero Wing

There's more out there, but I can't remember any at this time.