PDA

View Full Version : Saturn Street Fighter Collection Confusion

Lync
12-28-2014, 07:08 PM
I'm interested in finding a solid 2D fighter for the Saturn and in my crossings found that most signs point to Street Fighter Alpha 2 as being a fantastic, if not the essential, of 90's 2D fighting games for the system. I'm new to the whole Alpha series and don't care much about cross-overs much more imports.

The problem begins when I discover this Street Fighter Alpha 2 Gold version is in a Saturn Street Fighter Collection edition. The price tag is astounding and I've heard mixed reviews about the Super Street Fighter II / X ports. Further, that the Sony Playstation 1 also has the same releases but at a much more reasonable price.

I typically don't like asking someone to 'pick a game for me' but I'm 20 years late and already lost exploring this 32bit era. Between Street Fighter Alpha 2 and the Collection Gold, which is preferred and then further, Saturn or PS1?

Ugh. My head hurts from all of these different Street Fighter releases and console ports... :daze:

Lastcallhall
12-28-2014, 07:12 PM
I wound up buying Street Fighter Alpha 1 for the Saturn back in 96, and I never regretted it. I did, however, switch over to the PSX for the Street Fighter collection series, as well as Alpha 3 (initially). I stand by my choice for the collection series, but I really wish I had imported Alpha/Zero 3 for the Saturn with the 4MB cart back in the day. That version, to me, is the closest version to the arcade, even more so than the Dreamcast version.

TrekkiesUnite118
12-28-2014, 09:57 PM