PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know anywhere that RGB Scart mods SG-1000 Mark 2's ?



Sut
05-10-2015, 01:49 PM
I have zero technical knowledge on being able to do this myself.
I live in England and have a Japanese SG-1000 Mark 2 which being an RF console doesn't work on my PAL TV (crt). I've tried a convertor box to no avail.
I've read this mod is possible but is not in my skill set.

I have emailed a few mod sites without a positive response.

Anyone know someone who can do this ? Preferably in the UK for a fair price ?

ApolloBoy
05-13-2015, 02:42 PM
Depends on which SG-1000 II you have actually. Some can be modded for RGB but others have a discrete TMS9918 and hence can't be modded, so I'd check your system first.

Sut
06-15-2015, 09:36 AM
Finally got around to opening up my SG and unfortunately it does have a TMS9918 chip so looks like that rules out the RGB mod.
Any other ideas to get it working on a PAL TV ? Or am I better selling it on and getting a SC-3000 or Mark III instead ?

Thierry Henry
06-15-2015, 09:49 AM
and have a Japanese SG-1000 Mark 2 which being an RF console doesn't work on my PAL TV (crt).

What RF connection were you trying to use?

This here works perfectly for me.


http://i.imgur.com/4iOtKCI.jpg

Sut
06-15-2015, 09:57 AM
I've got one of those somewhere I will try again and report back.

Thierry Henry
06-15-2015, 10:00 AM
I've got one of those somewhere I will try again and report back.

Betcha it will work. :)
Just need to obviously tune the relevant channel on your TV to pick up the picture.

I use that connection for a bunch of systems incl the C64, Intellivision, Famicom, etc, etc.

Sut
06-15-2015, 11:13 AM
Never thought it could be a naff cable I was using. I am now using an identical cable to yours.

On my two CRT TV's I'm getting a black and white picture with slight noise interference. On my LCD modern TV I get a colour picture but massive noise interference. So some progress but not there yet.

Thierry Henry
06-15-2015, 11:57 AM
On my two CRT TV's I'm getting a black and white picture with slight noise interference. On my LCD modern TV I get a colour picture but massive noise interference.

On those respective TV's is that the best possible picture you can get?
I ask because sometimes the tuner will pick up the first "workable" image and set to that.

Sut
06-15-2015, 05:07 PM
Nah still black and white I've tried the VCR trick Mark uses on CGR but same result. Both my old VCR's don't go to channel 96 (it may be different on UK VCR's anyway) so end up getting same black and white picture.