PDA

View Full Version : Super Buggy Champ - Upcoming Genesis Racer - OFFICIAL DEV DIARY!

POLYGAMe
02-11-2016, 04:21 AM
Hey guys and gals,

I've been making games since 2009 but recently decided to make the jump to Genesis/Mega Drive development as... well it's more fulfilling than iOS and Android games.

Super Buggy Champ is an upcoming racer inspired by Out Run and Buggy Boy. I hope to update you on the build process in this very thread.

The game will get a physical release but I'm uncertain of exact details yet as it's early days.

Anyway, here are a few shots of progress so far. The last is a mockup using actual assets as I haven't put sprites in the engine yet.

First I managed garbled gfx:

Next I tried to make a corner:

Next I 'sort of' succeeded:

Then I smoothed it out after a lot of head scratching:

I then got the road scrolling smoothly (can't show in a pic) and this shot shows pretty much where I am now (minus the car):

Next job is to scroll the road adjusting to speed and add in the car sprite.

Thanks for looking :D

Flygon
02-11-2016, 05:42 AM
Ooh, I'm loving those background graphics! And the car too. Who drew them?

POLYGAMe
02-11-2016, 05:58 AM
An artist I hired named Maciej. He's brilliant :) This game is going to cost me a heap so I hope I can sell a few carts. Haha.

That reminds me... I was thinking I might release the rom free and just charge for boxed carts. I'm not sure if that's a wise decision but I figure true Sega collectors will want the physical copy and anyone else would just pirate it anyway. Getting a bit ahead of myself as it's still early days but what do you guys think?

EPSYLON EAGLE
02-11-2016, 06:56 AM
Videos please!

Barone
02-11-2016, 10:22 AM
Some questions if you allow me:
- Which language and SDK are you using?
- Your tracks are going to have elevation changes?
- Split-screen mode?

Awesome looking project. I love racing games.

EyeDeeNo76
02-11-2016, 11:40 AM