PDA

View Full Version : Sg-1000 I or SG-1000 II and RF?



gamer888
12-30-2017, 06:29 AM
I might get either one of those..more likely the Sg-1000 II (not the mark III, I have had it before).

But I know or at least I think, plugging such system on a LCD TV in Europe offers a few challenges such as:

-there is no plug possible between the system's RF and the TV's RF
-even if it plugs, it might just not work
-if it works, the picture will be very dark or shaking.

Can someone help me with this??Is there a way to play the sg-1000 II on a EU TV???On the same TV I can play my genesis, my coregrafx (both with RGBs) or the famicom AV without any issue.

Thierry Henry
12-30-2017, 03:12 PM
I might get either one of those..more likely the Sg-1000 II (not the mark III, I have had it before).

But I know or at least I think, plugging such system on a LCD TV in Europe offers a few challenges such as:

-there is no plug possible between the system's RF and the TV's RF

What do you mean no "plug possible"? You don't have one of these?


https://i.imgur.com/6Enzluw.jpg


Picture is fine on an LCD.

gamer888
12-31-2017, 06:51 AM
I used to have a mark III with a few RF-related cables.....none of them plugged in my TV's RF but maybe I didn't have the one you pictured. Assuming it plugs right, I won't have any trouble playing a sg-1000 I or II on my TV??No super dark pictures??I heard that japanese system plugged with RF won't work at all on western TVs but maybe I misunderstood this info??

Thierry Henry
12-31-2017, 07:42 AM
I used to have a mark III with a few RF-related cables.....none of them plugged in my TV's RF but maybe I didn't have the one you pictured. Assuming it plugs right, I won't have any trouble playing a sg-1000 I or II on my TV??No super dark pictures??I heard that japanese system plugged with RF won't work at all on western TVs but maybe I misunderstood this info??

I own a SG-1000 II, so I can speak specifically about that.
A while back I was playing Sinbad Mystery (it's a kind of Pac-Man clone). Had it hooked up via RF to a Sony Bravia LCD.
The picture quality was more than acceptable. Visuals were fine. None of that super dark image issues that you refer to.

gamer888
12-31-2017, 08:09 AM
Thanks for sharing your experience. And this was on a European TV?does the PAL/SECAM thing remain relevant?I know this standards are now gone with LCD but just wondering.

Thierry Henry
12-31-2017, 09:01 AM
I have never personally owned a TV that hasn't been multi-system. Even my CRT's are from a more modern vintage. So I can't speak to incompatibilities with regard to that.
The only exception being the PAL-M signal which has never been fully compatible with our TV's over here. You get picture and sound but the visuals are all in black & white.

But the RF standard is the same here as you'd find in European TV's. Same type of connector needed, unlike that screw on thing that you get in the States.

gamer888
12-31-2017, 09:16 AM
So japanese systems are compatible with European TVs but not US ones??Interesting..I am quite cluless about RF (as you might have found out..)

Blades
01-02-2018, 10:15 PM
Japanese systems are compatible with US TVs and by extension European TVs compatible with the Japanese/US standard.