PDA

View Full Version : Was the Sega Saturn developed with 3d in mind from the get go?

bultje112
06-17-2018, 08:00 AM
This guy claims so:

bzO2P4WJO8E

I have no knowledge about this, but it would change the saturns outlook in hindsight completely. From a laments persons view I do think the saturns 3d is heavily underrated.

Alianger
06-17-2018, 08:41 AM
Even if it was it wasn't designed that well or we would've seen better results in more games. This guy has a seriously annoying way of narrating btw.

axel
06-17-2018, 01:34 PM
What is his source for claiming VDP2 was added after the second SH-2?

Think about what would be easier to add late in a console's development -- an entirely new video display processor, or a copy of a chip you're already using?

Silanda
06-17-2018, 04:32 PM
I haven't watched the entire video, but he needs to cite sources in order to be taken seriously.

Think about what would be easier to add late in a console's development -- an entirely new video display processor, or a copy of a chip you're already using?

What I find strange about the idea that VDP2 was added as a counter to the Playstation is that it appears to be something from a 2D based design rather than a design based around 3D graphics. It was ostensibly a 2D background plane generator, with the added ability to scale, rotate, and blend those planes, and its most basic and obvious use would have been in 2D scrolling games and for "mode 7" type effects. Without VDP2, and with VDP1's limited power and built in effects, I suspect the Saturn wouldn't have looked anything like a 2D powerhouse. I suppose it could have been intended primarily to take some load off VDP1 in 3D games, but it's not useful in every scenario and does nothing to enhance the Saturn's actual polygon/quad rendering rate (only the way they're allocated in certain scenarios).