Quantcast

Page 142 of 147 FirstFirst ... 4292132138139140141142143144145146 ... LastLast
Results 2,116 to 2,130 of 2198

Thread: Official New Game Genie Code Thread

  1. #2116
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher Virtua Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    311
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    Virtua Hunter, I think this is the rest of the codes that I will be able to do. I haven't tested these at all, so let me know if they work.

    Thunder Force IV

    FBST-NAAG
    Changes the music for the 2nd song in Air Raid (Stage 3) to Omake-3

    FFZT-NACR
    Changes the music for the 2nd song in Daser (Stage 4) to Omake-4
    Thank you Tony!!

    Tested and they both works perfectly.
    Also I forget to ask you this:

    previously you mentioned that when you change the first song of each stage, the game still try to load the original song and it results in a black screen.

    Is it true also for the later stages that has only one song (stage 6-10)?

  2. #2117
    Ruimtemuis ruimtemuis's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Klaarstroom, South Africa
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    I will look into that when I'm done with the codes I'm working on. Where did you see that they were still in the ROM?


    Thank you for the response! I read it on this thread: https://www.sega-16.com/forum/showth...6441-Stormlord



    I only have the Japanese release myself. Not sure if there are differences between the later Japanese release and earlier American release.

  3. #2118
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,594
    Rep Power
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ruimtemuis View Post
    Thank you for the response! I read it on this thread: https://www.sega-16.com/forum/showth...6441-Stormlord

    I only have the Japanese release myself. Not sure if there are differences between the later Japanese release and earlier American release.
    In that thread, someone links to a patch that already exists to convert the ROM to use the nude graphics.

  4. #2119
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,594
    Rep Power
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Virtua Hunter View Post
    Thank you Tony!!

    Tested and they both works perfectly.
    Also I forget to ask you this:

    previously you mentioned that when you change the first song of each stage, the game still try to load the original song and it results in a black screen.

    Is it true also for the later stages that has only one song (stage 6-10)?
    I don't have an easy way to test stages 5-10 (no way to directly access those levels), so haven't directly tested those. However, this is how it works on stages 1-4, and the other levels are most likely the same. If I change the value for the music in stage 1 so that it plays the music from stage 3 instead, it will play the music from stage 3, but that is because you will be playing stage 3. If I told it to play the music for stage 4 and I selected stage 1, it would play the music for stage 4 as well as having you start on stage 4. It kind of acts like a level select code. The value for the music and the value for the stage are one in the same. If you change one, it will also change the other.

    If you want, you can post a save state (Kega Fusion or Gens will work) right at the end of stage 5. That way, I can see if stage 6 works the same way as stages 1-4.
    Last edited by Tony H; 07-19-2020 at 07:54 PM.

  5. #2120
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    238
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    Glad to hear that the code works.

    With these extra (tune-able) upgrade codes, I will include all the values so you can get an idea of what to expect, and maybe make suggestions as to which values might work best.

    Turbo Outrun (Genesis/MD)

    REFT-A6TR +
    BJFT-AAAW
    Always have the turbo upgrade, with even faster cool down.

    The game normally subtracts a value of 03 from the turbo heat to make it cool down. When you have the normal turbo upgrade, that value is increased to 05. With this code, I've set the value to 10. Let me know if you think this value is ok, or should I go higher or lower?
    The normal turbo upgrade is already a nice help, but with that extra upgrade code is even better.
    I would say the value 10 is just right and probably ideal for the harder difficulty settings.

    Can't wait to see what youŽll find out for the other two upgrades!

  6. #2121
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,594
    Rep Power
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaDriver View Post
    The normal turbo upgrade is already a nice help, but with that extra upgrade code is even better.
    I would say the value 10 is just right and probably ideal for the harder difficulty settings.

    Can't wait to see what youŽll find out for the other two upgrades!
    Cool, I'll leave the value at 10.

    I've been working on the other upgrades (tires and engine) and they are a little more complicated when it codes to turning them on or off with Game Genie codes during gameplay. This first code will allow you to access the upgrade menu from the very start of the game, so you can choose which upgrade you want to start with. One drawback is that you are forced to use the manual transmission. Will have more codes tomorrow...

    Turbo Outrun (Genesis/MD)

    AKXT-AA56 +
    RFYT-A612
    Start a new game with the upgrade menu (you can pick a Turbo, Tire, or Engine upgrade before your first race). Note that you will start with the manual transmission.

    EDIT: You can use the turbo upgrade code together with this code if you'd like (if you'd like to choose something else in addition to the turbo upgrade).

  7. #2122
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher Virtua Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    311
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    I don't have an easy way to test stages 5-10 (no way to directly access those levels), so haven't directly tested those. However, this is how it works on stages 1-4, and the other levels are most likely the same. If I change the value for the music in stage 1 so that it plays the music from stage 3 instead, it will play the music from stage 3, but that is because you will be playing stage 3. If I told it to play the music for stage 4 and I selected stage 1, it would play the music for stage 4 as well as having you start on stage 4. It kind of acts like a level select code. The value for the music and the value for the stage are one in the same. If you change one, it will also change the other.

    If you want, you can post a save state (Kega Fusion or Gens will work) right at the end of stage 5. That way, I can see if stage 6 works the same way as stages 1-4.
    Hello Tony

    I made two save state for Fusion:

    the first is a the beginning of stage 5 (use save state slot 0), in case you want to try if stage 5 behave just like the rpevious four stages.

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/g5yd3...an%29.gs0/file


    the second save is right at the end of the stage 5 (use save state slot 1)

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/m5weh...an%29.gs1/file

  8. #2123
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    238
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    Cool, I'll leave the value at 10.

    I've been working on the other upgrades (tires and engine) and they are a little more complicated when it codes to turning them on or off with Game Genie codes during gameplay. This first code will allow you to access the upgrade menu from the very start of the game, so you can choose which upgrade you want to start with. One drawback is that you are forced to use the manual transmission. Will have more codes tomorrow...

    Turbo Outrun (Genesis/MD)

    AKXT-AA56 +
    RFYT-A612
    Start a new game with the upgrade menu (you can pick a Turbo, Tire, or Engine upgrade before your first race). Note that you will start with the manual transmission.

    EDIT: You can use the turbo upgrade code together with this code if you'd like (if you'd like to choose something else in addition to the turbo upgrade).

    It's fine really.
    IMHO, manual transmission is the only way possible to play and master Turbo Outrun.
    And as I suspected, starting the game with 'Higrip tires' is a major improvement and makes the game a lot more enjoyable.
    So, even if it is not possible to activate the other two upgrades, as it is, it's already an excellent work from you.

  9. #2124
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,594
    Rep Power
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Virtua Hunter View Post
    Hello Tony

    I made two save state for Fusion:

    the first is a the beginning of stage 5 (use save state slot 0), in case you want to try if stage 5 behave just like the rpevious four stages.

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/g5yd3...an%29.gs0/file


    the second save is right at the end of the stage 5 (use save state slot 1)

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/m5weh...an%29.gs1/file
    Looks like there is no "easy" way to change the music on stages 5 thru 10. The game carries over the value from stage 4, and then just keeps adding 1 to it for the next level.

    I'm going to put this on the back burner and may come back to it later.

  10. #2125
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,594
    Rep Power
    55

    Default

    MegaDriver, I have a question... Are you only allowed to upgrade each of the 3 items one time? In other words, once you've upgraded all 3 items, will the upgrade screen still show up and allow you to upgrade something a second time?

  11. #2126
    Raging in the Streets KnightWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    47
    Posts
    3,675
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    I know it's like 2 years, I never thank you on it

    on the NES version of Batman:RTOJ

    When you beat a boss with 1 bar of Health, You Health bar get's refilled in the NES version, not on the Genesis version

    Is there a way to find where you have your health refilled at the start of each stage

  12. #2127
    Master of Shinobi Tony H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,594
    Rep Power
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KnightWarrior View Post
    I know it's like 2 years, I never thank you on it

    on the NES version of Batman:RTOJ

    When you beat a boss with 1 bar of Health, You Health bar get's refilled in the NES version, not on the Genesis version

    Is there a way to find where you have your health refilled at the start of each stage
    You're saying that your health normally doesn't get refilled when you start a new level, and you want a code to do that?

  13. #2128
    Raging in the Streets KnightWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    47
    Posts
    3,675
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Yeah like that, Will it be possable?

  14. #2129
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    238
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    MegaDriver, I have a question... Are you only allowed to upgrade each of the 3 items one time? In other words, once you've upgraded all 3 items, will the upgrade screen still show up and allow you to upgrade something a second time?
    Yes, the game only allows to upgrade each of the 3 items one time.

    The upgrade screen appears 3 times (when a certain level is cleared) but the item (or items) previously upgraded are no longer available to upgrade once more. The player has to forcibly chose between the ones left.
    So, the only variation possible is the order of the upgrades. By the end of the game the car is fully upgraded (3 upgrades screen and 3 different upgrades installed, each one only one time).

  15. #2130
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher Virtua Hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    311
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
    Looks like there is no "easy" way to change the music on stages 5 thru 10. The game carries over the value from stage 4, and then just keeps adding 1 to it for the next level.

    I'm going to put this on the back burner and may come back to it later.
    Thank you!

    Meanwhile I have another question this time it's not for the music
    It's probably in the realm of romhacking and it's more a curiosity than a real request but I ask in any case:

    would it be possible to change the spaceship sprite? TF IV has two ships, the second ship is unlocked at the end of stage 5 with a cutscene (I think you can see it in the save state) and and is used for the rest of the game.

    I know it's unlikely, but since the game seems programmed in an odd way, maybe thel left both ships data included tor every level? That's my curiosity ^^

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 32X: Yay or nay?
    By 16bitter in forum 32X Power!
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 04-11-2013, 02:27 AM
  2. Game Boy appreciation thread
    By Drixxel in forum Insert Coin
    Replies: 118
    Last Post: 12-26-2012, 11:55 AM
  3. Game Genie Codes: Should we have them?
    By Melf in forum Contributor's Corner
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-30-2008, 05:15 PM
  4. Game Genie Problems
    By Chris Marsh in forum Tech Aid
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-20-2006, 11:12 PM
  5. how to make your own game genie codes
    By daminmancejin2 in forum Genesis Does!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2005, 06:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •