Quantcast

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: model 1 with 32X = No sound?

  1. #1
    So's your old man! Raging in the Streets zetastrike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    3,712
    Rep Power
    88

    Default model 1 with 32X = No sound?

    I'm thinking about buying one of these cables, but the seller says you won't get any sound coming out of the TV because the Genesis model 1 doesn't transfer audio to the 32X. You have to use the headphones. Is this BS? Because I've never heard of this. Could the cables just be pieces of crap?

    http://shop.gametrog.com/SEGA-32X-to...32X-CROSS1.htm
    Quote Originally Posted by A Black Falcon
    Nope. Bloodlines is the problem, not me. I have no trouble with Super Castlevania IV (SNES) and Dracula X: Rondo of Blood (TCD), and have finished both games. Both of those are outstanding games, among the best platformers of the generation. In comparison Bloodlines is third or fourth tier.

    No, it's unbiased analysis. The only fanboyism is people who claim that Hyperstone Heist and Bloodlines are actually as good as their SNES counterparts.
    My Collection: http://vgcollect.com/zetastrike

  2. #2
    Master of Shinobi ooXxXoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Here, There & Everywhere
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,097
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    That's BS, the Genesis 1 does output mono sound through the Av port...But with a Genesis 1 and 32X system video/audio output, you'll need an Av mono cable (MK-1634), the official stereo cable (MK-1635) is not going to give you any stereo sound....
    φΨήœ μΞΠΰ ε ψώ♪

  3. #3
    So's your old man! Raging in the Streets zetastrike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    3,712
    Rep Power
    88

    Default

    could I still just use the stereo AV cables? I don't have any mono ones. Would it compromise the sound quality at all? I'm looking to switch my model 2 for a model 1, so I only have the stereo AV cables from the model 2 that I already use with my 32X.
    Quote Originally Posted by A Black Falcon
    Nope. Bloodlines is the problem, not me. I have no trouble with Super Castlevania IV (SNES) and Dracula X: Rondo of Blood (TCD), and have finished both games. Both of those are outstanding games, among the best platformers of the generation. In comparison Bloodlines is third or fourth tier.

    No, it's unbiased analysis. The only fanboyism is people who claim that Hyperstone Heist and Bloodlines are actually as good as their SNES counterparts.
    My Collection: http://vgcollect.com/zetastrike

  4. #4
    Antiquing Hedgehog Lord QuickSciFi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    19,201
    Rep Power
    206

    Default

    My friend had the same problem with his newly purchased stereo AV cables (upon my recommendation). But there's definitely no sound at all coming out through the 32X.

  5. #5
    Master of Shinobi ooXxXoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Here, There & Everywhere
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,097
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zetastrike View Post
    could I still just use the stereo AV cables? I don't have any mono ones. Would it compromise the sound quality at all? I'm looking to switch my model 2 for a model 1, so I only have the stereo AV cables from the model 2 that I already use with my 32X.
    No, you wont be able to use the stereo cable...You can get the stereo sound through the phones jack, and have two separate cables (One for audio/one for the video), maybe that's what the seller was trying to say all along....Or, you can get a mono cable ..

    The reason to all of this is because the pins in a stereo and mono cable are arranged differently...The stereo cable pins according to the genesis 2 stereo audio only...
    Last edited by ooXxXoo; 07-24-2011 at 03:43 PM.
    φΨήœ μΞΠΰ ε ψώ♪

  6. #6
    It all about the games! Wildside Expert SDFcommander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southern , CA
    Posts
    114
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I have a model 1 Genesis with a 32X on sale on E-bay right now. I have that Game Trog custom model 1 Genesis to 32X cable (not the 2 that need to be connected) and you can use the stereo cables from the 32X out to hook up to your speakers but the sound will not be in stereo. It is simply the same sound piped out of 2 speakers. For true stereo sound I am using a RCA Y cable to go from the headphone jack to the speaks.

    You can see pictures of the cables on my auction:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...STRK:MESELX:IT

  7. #7
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One Kanon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    85
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    I'm not getting any sound at all (Gen or 32x games).

    First, the setup: Model 1 Genesis, with 32X. From Gen to 32X, a custom cable sending video from AV, and audio from the headphones output. Then, from the 32X a AV mono cable (weird but it works)

    What I could troubleshoot: Video output is correct in this setup (layers from GEN and 32X as expected). If I take the 32X and install it as it is (same AV cable, obviously a different crossover cable for mod 2) in a Genesis Mod 2 clone, sound from the 32X works (I don't use it this way cause the clone and 32X can't work toghether with video). Audio from the headphones output of the Gen1 works. The Gen1 is attached to a Sega CD, but I also checked without the SCD, no changes.

    So, I guess the only suspect is the new cable, but I don't know what else can I try, or how can I be sure that is the problem.

    The AV "mono" cable I'm using works with the Gen2 clone, and the 32X, but it is very weird, only 3 pins in the connector. Could that be the issue? maybe it works with Gen2 audio but not with Gen1?




  8. #8
    urusei yatsura Master of Shinobi lumclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,362
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Have you tried an AV stereo cable?
    A mono cable for Genesis 2 with 3 pins can be designed in two ways. Either by joining left+right, or splitting the mono output.

  9. #9
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One Kanon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    85
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lumclaw View Post
    Have you tried an AV stereo cable?
    A mono cable for Genesis 2 with 3 pins can be designed in two ways. Either by joining left+right, or splitting the mono output.
    I guess is joining L+R, there is only one video and one audio RCA connector. Could it be that the crossover cable is sending mono from the GEN1 and then the 32X outputs mono to a different, not conected, pin? (Shouldn't there be stereo sound regardless, when playing 32X games?)

    I'll try to get more cables to try out. Gen 1 cables are hard to get over here. I ordered some regular crossover cables for Gen1 back then, but they are a long way to arriving yet.

  10. #10
    WCPO Agent roadkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    902
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Why not use a male 3.5mm to RCA stereo cable for sound directly from the Genesis 1 headphone jack and then use the AV cable from the 32X for video only? I did that when I modded my 32X for S-Video and didn't even bother using the AV output on the 32X since the mod required disabling composite video.

  11. #11
    Nameless One Michael Helgeson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    42
    Posts
    75
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Yeah I just run a earphone to RCA stereo out cable from my earphone jack to my av splitter and only have S-video coming off my 32X I use with my Model 1. Pretty much the most tried and true method to get the best audio out of that combination.

  12. #12
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One Kanon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    85
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roadkill View Post
    Why not use a male 3.5mm to RCA stereo cable for sound directly from the Genesis 1 headphone jack and then use the AV cable from the 32X for video only? I did that when I modded my 32X for S-Video and didn't even bother using the AV output on the 32X since the mod required disabling composite video.
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Helgeson View Post
    Yeah I just run a earphone to RCA stereo out cable from my earphone jack to my av splitter and only have S-video coming off my 32X I use with my Model 1. Pretty much the most tried and true method to get the best audio out of that combination.
    That sounds like the simplest and safest way, but isn't there sound generated from the 32X that would be missing? or is all sound coming from the Genesis and the 32X only provides improved graphics?

  13. #13
    Nameless One Michael Helgeson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Age
    42
    Posts
    75
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    All the sound comes out of the ear phone jack just fine.

  14. #14
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One Kanon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    85
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Helgeson View Post
    All the sound comes out of the ear phone jack just fine.
    I see. Thanks.

    I guess the ultimate setup would be 32X for video, then the headphones jack from the GEN 1 to the Sega CD, and then the Sega CD RCA for audio output.

    EDIT: Seems to be working wonders that way
    Last edited by Kanon; 01-09-2017 at 10:18 PM.

  15. #15
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One Kanon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    85
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    UPDATE: I got some other "regular" Model 1 to 32X cables -meaning that they don't use the headphone jack for sound, but everything goes from the AV port from the Gen to 32X- and they work fine, so I guess there is just something wrong with the cable I currently use (I don't mind 'cause I send the audio from the headphone to the SCD and then AV to the TV )

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •