Quantcast

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: semi-working sega cd

  1. #1
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    66

    Default semi-working sega cd

    my father bought me a semi-working Sega CD unit on eBay.. the seller says the unit plays music CD's, and CD-G just fine, but sometimes it won't load a Sega CD game..

    since there's no copy protection, i thought that maybe the lens is dirty for game data, but for CD data, it's fine.. OR, the SRAM battery may be dead?

    i haven't got it yet, but any advice as to what the problem may be, is welcome..

    (it's a model II)

  2. #2
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    66

    Default

    also, while i know how to burn a Sega CD game that has the ISO/WAVE combo (from previous backups to games I no longer have), how do I burn one that don't have WAVEs?

    SegaCueMaker just complains I am missing WAVEs, when there was non to begin with (my Sega CD game had no audio tracks----mega race)

  3. #3
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,176
    Rep Power
    132

    Default

    Just burn the ISO. Screw Sega Cue Maker.

  4. #4
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Redifer
    Just burn the ISO. Screw Sega Cue Maker.
    will it work on the real hardware though? if i remember correctly, it does something different to the way it burns the ISO..

  5. #5
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,176
    Rep Power
    132

    Default

    Should work fine. Just burn it as an ISO with Nero.

  6. #6
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Redifer
    Should work fine. Just burn it as an ISO with Nero.
    right now the only PC that can burn in the house, is my fathers, and it's getting it's HD cloned (SMART status failed on it)

    my comp is a Mac, and I use Toast 7 Titanium, can that burn an ok to use ISO? (i could never burn Dreamcast games on Toast, for some reason, they never worked, and always ended up using Nero on my fathers PC)

  7. #7
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,176
    Rep Power
    132

    Default

    Yes, just set Toast to DATA and ISO 9660, drag and drop the ISO file into Toast's window and select BURN. It might be helpful if you put a blank CD-R in the tray sometime during this process.

  8. #8
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    66

    Default

    ok, got it burned.. hopefully when the Sega CD arrives, it will play it (after I repair the unit)

  9. #9
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,176
    Rep Power
    132

    Default

    If it doesn't work, you will have wasted maybe 10 cents on that blank CD!

  10. #10
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    66

    Default

    i get them bulk

    the emulator reads it as a regular SegaCD game, though, i think that'll read anything..

  11. #11
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,176
    Rep Power
    132

    Default

    Bah! It'll work. I've illegally and immorally burned Sega CD games even without the included WAV files as just ISO only (like Silpheed) and it worked fine on the real hardware... at least until the FBI busted in and ruined my shit.

  12. #12
    Master of Shinobi ary incorparated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,939
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    but cant you put the Wave files in a map or something and then burn the complete deal?.That works for emulator on pc eh,just iso+music files in amap and ittl work fine,in that situation forget burning or what ever.

  13. #13
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,176
    Rep Power
    132

    Default

    A map? Maps are, well maps. You use them to find stuff and what routes to take, etc. Maps don't hold WAV files.

  14. #14
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    66

    Default

    i think he means CUE files, as maps.. as CUEs are pretty much telling the burner where to burn things..

    i noticed Toast don't burn CDs with CUE files.. It wants a BIN file also, which i do not have..

  15. #15
    Shining Hero Joe Redifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO - USA
    Posts
    13,176
    Rep Power
    132

    Default

    I don't think Mega Race had any WAV files to begin with, did it? It may have had one that said "This CD isn't a music CD!" when played in a real CD player, but the game certainly does not depend on that being there.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •