Quantcast

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: [Windows 2000] Unload the debugger and try again - Can't play to any EA Games!

  1. #1
    On NGC? No, DREAMCAST! ;D WCPO Agent GameX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    795
    Rep Power
    17

    Default [Windows 2000] Unload the debugger and try again - Can't play to any EA Games!

    Hi,


    I've found an interesting way to play to my PC games, since I'm not the administrator on Windows XP, I can't install anything myself, which is seriously annoying. And when the PC crashe, every game is gone.

    That's the main reason why I've pretty much "banned" PC gaming.
    But a few days ago, I've heard about the virtual machines, so I installed VirtualBox, and installed Windows 2000 on it.

    I could put Windows XP for sure, but it'll take too much space and memory. I already have it installed, this is unnecessary. About Windows 98, I've tried using it, but I can't switch to 32-bits (I'm stuck in 16 colors 640x480), so my games won't work. Seems 98 have trouble booting with VirtualBox anyways.

    So here I go: Windows 2000 is running really fast on 32-bits, 1024x768. I've managed to install my games, and Lego Island is playable. But the games from EA (Harry Potter 1 & 2. Don't know why, can't install the 3rd, even if it's supposed to be compatible with Windows 2000), everytime I start one, I get this message:

    A debugger has been detected. Unload the debugger and try again.

    Debugger what?
    It seems that I'm not alone to have this problem; people get this problem on 2000, XP and Vista apparently: http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/winxp/t999336488

    I've followed these steps, but nothing work:
    support.microsoft.com/kb/812759

    1. There is no amdfix.sys on my system. I've search for hidden files, but nothing.
    2. There's no msconfig on Windows 2000; I've booted in Safe Mode, and my game just doesn't start (Anyways, I'm on 16 colors, so.).
    3. Doubt it's the case! Games run fine on Windows XP!
    4. I've installed nothing, except my games and the Windows 2000 SP4. Nothing else.
    5. There's no msconfig.

    How can I solve this problem? Talk about an annoying popup! <<
    Will that work if I install Windows 2000 for real, instead of using a virtual machine?

    Thanks for the help
    Last edited by GameX; 10-12-2011 at 12:19 PM.
    Collection:

    NES [11/XX/90] / N64 [12/25/03] / GB [2003 or 2004] / GBA SP [2004 or 2005] / NGC [12/25/04] / Wii [12/25/07] / DS Lite [10/21/10] / SNES [05/31/20]

    GenMobile [05/XX/10 - 04/17/11] / DC [07/23/10] / GEN1-HDG [10/25/10] / Saturn Model 2 [04/24/11] / Game Gear [07/21/17] / SMS [08/07/17] / GEN2 [08/09/17] / SCD2 [08/09/17] / 32x [08/24/17] / GEN3 [06/06/20] / GEN-Mini [06/10/20]

    PS3 Slim 320GB + PSMove [12/25/10] / PS2 Slim [02/09/11] / PS [04/24/11]

    Xbox [04/24/11]

  2. #2
    Hero of Algol TrekkiesUnite118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8,301
    Rep Power
    137

    Default

    Virtual Machines aren't really intended to play games. If the game requires direct Hardware access that's going to prevent it from running in a Virtual Machine.

  3. #3
    On NGC? No, DREAMCAST! ;D WCPO Agent GameX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    795
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    So does it have sightly more chances of working, if I install the OS for real?
    Collection:

    NES [11/XX/90] / N64 [12/25/03] / GB [2003 or 2004] / GBA SP [2004 or 2005] / NGC [12/25/04] / Wii [12/25/07] / DS Lite [10/21/10] / SNES [05/31/20]

    GenMobile [05/XX/10 - 04/17/11] / DC [07/23/10] / GEN1-HDG [10/25/10] / Saturn Model 2 [04/24/11] / Game Gear [07/21/17] / SMS [08/07/17] / GEN2 [08/09/17] / SCD2 [08/09/17] / 32x [08/24/17] / GEN3 [06/06/20] / GEN-Mini [06/10/20]

    PS3 Slim 320GB + PSMove [12/25/10] / PS2 Slim [02/09/11] / PS [04/24/11]

    Xbox [04/24/11]

  4. #4
    Stuck in the Past Shining Hero The Jackal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14,408
    Rep Power
    161

    Default

    Why don't you have admin rights on XP? Is it your PC? Seriously, just get admin access and install it properly.



  5. #5
    Bite my shiny, metal ***! Hero of Algol retrospiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cologne, FRG
    Posts
    7,816
    Rep Power
    93

    Pc

    You can buy a cheap Windows XP PC for almost nothing. I'd probably look up the recommended specs for the games I want to play and buy a cheap Laptop that meets them.
    The Mega Drive was far inferior to the NES in terms of diffusion rate and sales in the Japanese market, though there were ardent Sega users. But in the US and Europe, we knew Sega could challenge Nintendo. We aimed at dominating those markets, hiring experienced staff for our overseas department in Japan, and revitalising Sega of America and the ailing Virgin group in Europe.

    Then we set about developing killer games.

    - Hayao Nakayama, Mega Drive Collected Works (p. 17)

  6. #6
    Hero of Algol TrekkiesUnite118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8,301
    Rep Power
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GameX View Post
    So does it have sightly more chances of working, if I install the OS for real?
    Yes, that's what I just said. Virtual Machines block you off from direct hardware access as a Security feature. So when you try to run a game that needs direct hardware access to things like Memory, your graphics card, and other things it's not going to work because it can't do what it needs to do.

    Just give yourself admin rights on Windows XP. Go in through safe mode, log into the Administrator account (it shouldn't have a password by default), and go into the user accounts part of Control Panel and give your account admin rights. That's a much easier solution than trying to run a game in a virtual machine.

  7. #7
    ToeJam is a wiener Hero of Algol Guntz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    8,522
    Rep Power
    84

    Default

    Hmm, that's rather strange. VirtualBox is supposed to offer more direct hardware support than most other virtualization tools. Do you know if these games have such problems on Windows 2000 if the OS is installed on bare metal? Instead of a virtual environment?

    As others have said, fix your install of Windows XP so you have unhindered access to the computer. A risk of malware is not as bad as not being able to run anything on your own OS (hello Vista!).

    OR - something I don't think has been mentioned yet - if you need to re-install XP in order to be the admin (probably don't need to go that far), why not partition your HDD so both Win2k and XP can co-exist on the same machine? The XP bootloader, as crappy as it is, should be able to detect 2000. It'd be pointless from a compatibility standpoint, but if for whatever reason, you'll have both versions of Windows at your command.

    I don't recommend that option if your HDD is painfully small, like less than 80GB in size.

  8. #8
    On NGC? No, DREAMCAST! ;D WCPO Agent GameX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    795
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Why don't you have admin rights on XP? Is it your PC? Seriously, just get admin access and install it properly.
    Just give yourself admin rights on Windows XP. Go in through safe mode, log into the Administrator account (it shouldn't have a password by default), and go into the user accounts part of Control Panel and give your account admin rights. That's a much easier solution than trying to run a game in a virtual machine.
    As others have said, fix your install of Windows XP so you have unhindered access to the computer. A risk of malware is not as bad as not being able to run anything on your own OS (hello Vista!).
    I think we should forget about getting admin rights that way, and the reason is quite simple; we're 5 to use the same computer, so it need to have a single admin to manage the computer, and unfortunately (I did said that I suck with hardware, so in a sense, that's not a bad thing), that's not me. I hate to say it, but 'ya, my father is managing this computer, not me (Don't laught.. XD).

    OR - something I don't think has been mentioned yet - if you need to re-install XP in order to be the admin (probably don't need to go that far), why not partition your HDD so both Win2k and XP can co-exist on the same machine? The XP bootloader, as crappy as it is, should be able to detect 2000. It'd be pointless from a compatibility standpoint, but if for whatever reason, you'll have both versions of Windows at your command.
    Well, I have 3 PCs, one of them being the "boss" that control the 2 others. I did installed Linux Ubuntu on a second one, on another partion (I wanted to try it, and I do like it!). Guess I could do the same with Windows 2000 (Expecting that W2K, WXP and Ubuntu will all the three work fine together!). I have 12GB of space on Ubuntu (Which is enough, since I wanted to try it), so I could create another partion with Windows 2K, with about 5GB that will be taken from the Ubuntu partition (That may sound small, but considering the space I'll need, that's okay. Harry Potter 3 will be the most recent game I'll play, and it's compatible with Windows 2000. It's 700MB.).

    There's one thing I don't understand, however: why couldn't I do it if my hard drive is smaller than 80GB?
    Collection:

    NES [11/XX/90] / N64 [12/25/03] / GB [2003 or 2004] / GBA SP [2004 or 2005] / NGC [12/25/04] / Wii [12/25/07] / DS Lite [10/21/10] / SNES [05/31/20]

    GenMobile [05/XX/10 - 04/17/11] / DC [07/23/10] / GEN1-HDG [10/25/10] / Saturn Model 2 [04/24/11] / Game Gear [07/21/17] / SMS [08/07/17] / GEN2 [08/09/17] / SCD2 [08/09/17] / 32x [08/24/17] / GEN3 [06/06/20] / GEN-Mini [06/10/20]

    PS3 Slim 320GB + PSMove [12/25/10] / PS2 Slim [02/09/11] / PS [04/24/11]

    Xbox [04/24/11]

  9. #9
    Hero of Algol TrekkiesUnite118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8,301
    Rep Power
    137

    Default

    2000 would have the benefit of still having DOS support. Though 98 would be better for that most likely. XP has absolutely no DOS support. Anything it appears to be doing in DOS is completely simulated.

    EDIT: Here's a crazy idea. Why don't you just ask your dad to have permission to install the games? That's still an easier solution than to try and get something like that to run in a virtual machine. Virtual Machines are intended for testing purposes, low resources work, and security. They are not intended for playing games.

  10. #10
    On NGC? No, DREAMCAST! ;D WCPO Agent GameX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    795
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TrekkiesUnite118 View Post
    2000 would have the benefit of still having DOS support. Though 98 would be better for that most likely. XP has absolutely no DOS support. Anything it appears to be doing in DOS is completely simulated.
    98 would still do the job, but when using it on VirtualBox, I couldn't get it on 32-bits 1024x768. And I've read really often that I can't be used proprely on modern hardware. Maybe that'll be more trouble than Windows 2000?

    What about Windows ME, for playing my games (I know, this system has a really bad reputation. Would like to try it, just once)?
    Collection:

    NES [11/XX/90] / N64 [12/25/03] / GB [2003 or 2004] / GBA SP [2004 or 2005] / NGC [12/25/04] / Wii [12/25/07] / DS Lite [10/21/10] / SNES [05/31/20]

    GenMobile [05/XX/10 - 04/17/11] / DC [07/23/10] / GEN1-HDG [10/25/10] / Saturn Model 2 [04/24/11] / Game Gear [07/21/17] / SMS [08/07/17] / GEN2 [08/09/17] / SCD2 [08/09/17] / 32x [08/24/17] / GEN3 [06/06/20] / GEN-Mini [06/10/20]

    PS3 Slim 320GB + PSMove [12/25/10] / PS2 Slim [02/09/11] / PS [04/24/11]

    Xbox [04/24/11]

  11. #11
    Hero of Algol TrekkiesUnite118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8,301
    Rep Power
    137

    Default

    Windows Me is the perfect virus. Don't use it.

    And there are things you can do with Windows 98 to make it work on modern Hardware. You can even get 95 to run on modern hardware. I think TmEE discussed this in another thread.

  12. #12
    On NGC? No, DREAMCAST! ;D WCPO Agent GameX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    795
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TrekkiesUnite118 View Post
    Windows Me is the perfect virus. Don't use it.
    Yes, most probably; I was referring to the only aspect of playing my games, I do not plan on browsing or doing others stuff. Is it more compatible than Windows 2000 ?

    And there are things you can do with Windows 98 to make it work on modern Hardware. You can even get 95 to run on modern hardware. I think TmEE discussed this in another thread.
    I'll probably give 2000 a shot.

    EDIT: Here's a crazy idea. Why don't you just ask your dad to have permission to install the games? That's still an easier solution than to try and get something like that to run in a virtual machine. Virtual Machines are intended for testing purposes, low resources work, and security. They are not intended for playing games.
    Crazy answer. :P It'll take too much time to install a game; when we got Harry Potter 6, that was long before he decided to install it. I know that's silly. :P

    At least, I've managed to make Harry Potter 1 work fine on Ubuntu (On XP, it need to be ran in a admin account no matter what permission (Read or Write) you give to him.).
    Collection:

    NES [11/XX/90] / N64 [12/25/03] / GB [2003 or 2004] / GBA SP [2004 or 2005] / NGC [12/25/04] / Wii [12/25/07] / DS Lite [10/21/10] / SNES [05/31/20]

    GenMobile [05/XX/10 - 04/17/11] / DC [07/23/10] / GEN1-HDG [10/25/10] / Saturn Model 2 [04/24/11] / Game Gear [07/21/17] / SMS [08/07/17] / GEN2 [08/09/17] / SCD2 [08/09/17] / 32x [08/24/17] / GEN3 [06/06/20] / GEN-Mini [06/10/20]

    PS3 Slim 320GB + PSMove [12/25/10] / PS2 Slim [02/09/11] / PS [04/24/11]

    Xbox [04/24/11]

  13. #13
    Hero of Algol TrekkiesUnite118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8,301
    Rep Power
    137

    Default

    It's not just the internet security that makes Me bad. Numerous other problems exist in it. Basically if you were to install Me on your system and leave it go and never go online or do any risky behavior, it will eventually corrupt itself and crash. Don't use Me. Compatibility wise it's probably even worse. If you want the best DOS compatibility for Windows your best bet aside form going with DOS itself is to use Windows 98 or 95. 2000 should give some limited DOS compatibility though. XP wont work though. However if you don't need DOS then don't bother and stick with 2000 or XP or something newer.

  14. #14
    On NGC? No, DREAMCAST! ;D WCPO Agent GameX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    795
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    It's not just the internet security that makes Me bad. Numerous other problems exist in it. Basically if you were to install Me on your system and leave it go and never go online or do any risky behavior, it will eventually corrupt itself and crash. Don't use Me. Compatibility wise it's probably even worse.
    Good, then ME suck. :P The way you wrote that, guess you consider ME fairly worst than Vista!

    The DOS compatibility, if I want to play to some DOS games?

    If so, then no. I remember about 1 or 2 DOS games I played as a kid. Anyways, I don't own these games. So DOS is a no. :P
    Collection:

    NES [11/XX/90] / N64 [12/25/03] / GB [2003 or 2004] / GBA SP [2004 or 2005] / NGC [12/25/04] / Wii [12/25/07] / DS Lite [10/21/10] / SNES [05/31/20]

    GenMobile [05/XX/10 - 04/17/11] / DC [07/23/10] / GEN1-HDG [10/25/10] / Saturn Model 2 [04/24/11] / Game Gear [07/21/17] / SMS [08/07/17] / GEN2 [08/09/17] / SCD2 [08/09/17] / 32x [08/24/17] / GEN3 [06/06/20] / GEN-Mini [06/10/20]

    PS3 Slim 320GB + PSMove [12/25/10] / PS2 Slim [02/09/11] / PS [04/24/11]

    Xbox [04/24/11]

  15. #15
    Hero of Algol TrekkiesUnite118's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Age
    33
    Posts
    8,301
    Rep Power
    137

    Default

    Well, Warcraft 2 requires DOS support, so if you wanted to play that you'd need it.

    I've never actually used Vista, but from what I've seen and heard Vista at least runs and doesn't kill itself.

    Me is referred to as the Perfect Virus because it is the perfect virus.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •