Quantcast

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sega Nomad with modern LCD and region switch colour fix

  1. #1
    Master of Shinobi omp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    1,669
    Rep Power
    28

    Default Sega Nomad with modern LCD and region switch colour fix

    Hello chaps

    Thought I would put this up as I haven't seen it around (doesn't mean it isn't I suppose lol).

    Start of story-
    For my birthday, wife asks what I want. Answer I would like a Nomad! (for modding of course). They are expensive in Australia, so I sourced one from America.

    I also want it fitted with a LCD screen and region switch.

    I planned (and I do expect to be criticized) from the start to have my region switch as a manual region switch (AU, JPN, USA), rather than pressing mode etc as some PAL games aren't keen on that sort of thing (screen scroll/flash etc)

    Anyway I got the Nomad and LCD and I knew if I did the mod I would be visited by the black/white screen fairy. Had a few chats with TmEE about it and gave me the general idea.

    I installed the LCD screen and initially I locked the video encoder with a 4.43(blah blah)Mhz 4 pin oscillator. The screen I got worked, buuuutttt I wasn't keen on the look of PAL60 (US and JPN region), the images seemed to have a "ghost" image around them, making it looked slightly smudged. When the switch was set to AU (PAL) the image was fine. Perhaps the LCD monitor, whilst being ok with NTSC and PAL(50) wasn't 100% happy about doing PAL60.

    Anyway I got to work about re-wiring it all up so that the standard clock would do it's thing while the added oscillator would do the other thing.

    First pic is where you can disable pin 6 to the CXA1645 video encoder, you could lift the leg if you want to but this is MUCH easier and safer. Also shown is where you can grab GND and +5V for the oscillator

    NTSC clock and power points.JPG

    Oscillator as shown, grab the datasheet for what you need.

    4.433619 oscillator.JPG

    As above but wired up and partially insulated. I put this in the front half of the case under the A,B,C,X,Y, Z buttons, really no other place to put it. (I also wrapped it in electrical tape for insulation)

    oscillator wired up.JPG

    CXA1645 video encoder, disable pin 7 up the line as shown. +5v selects NTSC mode, GND gives you PAL mode. Jolly interesting to note that it pulls itself high (+5V) when not grounded, so you only need to switch in GND! Pin 6 is for clock signal.

    video encoder.JPG

    Switch schematic, quick ACAD drawup of the switch I used which is a 3 position 4 pole switch (slide)

    Switch fix-Model.jpg
    Last edited by omp; 06-02-2012 at 10:28 PM.

  2. #2
    Master of Shinobi omp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    1,669
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Continuing

    Region switch left is JPN, middle is USA and right is AU desoldered the contrast wheel for the old screen and squeezed the switch in there. Now I know folks won't be keen on this but meh.

    region switch.JPG

    LCD menu buttons. Probably didn't need to do this, but I did. If I didn't do this there would be no holes drilled in the case.

    lcd menu controls.JPG

    PAL Ghouls and Ghosts

    Pal G&G.JPG

    NTSC (USA) G&G

    USA G&G.JPG

    NTSC (JPN) G&G

    JPN G&G.JPG

    I am quite happy with this, I have also done the cam-corder battery mod, works a treat.

    I hope that if anyone else can use this guide it will help.

  3. #3
    Sports Talker
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    united kingdom
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Any way of doing this with sebs code as i love that sebs code no extra switches.

    but cool to mod my two i just got today.

  4. #4
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training toto99303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    17
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    omp, thanks for the excellent info, I was just wondering the same thing about PAL.
    raylyd, sebs code will not work with external oscillator, clock signal has to be switched somehow... I'm thinking about analog switch IC.

  5. #5
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Sorry for asking; what is the difference between nomad and genesis/genesis2, quality/sound wise?

  6. #6
    Now with 33% more @$$! Master of Shinobi Assman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,186
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chunklady View Post
    Sorry for asking; what is the difference between nomad and genesis/genesis2, quality/sound wise?
    Details here: http://www.sega-16.com/forum/showthr...-from-bad-ones

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •