Quantcast

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: Anyone else here ever blue-screened a Sega Genesis?

  1. #1
    Raging in the Streets Thunderblaze16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orlando
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,091
    Rep Power
    81

    Genesis Anyone else here ever blue-screened a Sega Genesis?

    This is actually pretty cool, a guy on Reddit some how was able to get a blue screen on his Mortal Kombat 3 game. I didn't even know such a thing was possible for the Sega Genesis!

    You can see his screen shot and the conversation here.
    http://www.reddit.com/r/gaming/comme..._sega_genesis/
    ***Visualshock! Speedshock! Soundshock! Now is time to the 68000 heart on fire!***
    http://ban-game-4.gamewise.co/musha-metallic-uniframe-super-hybrid-armor_banner65-61867-full.jpeg

  2. #2
    Road Rasher TurboRotary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    401
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    UMK3 has some weird shit that happens from time to time.. This is a video I made for the Tech Aid section.. Look right at the 5:00 mark..


  3. #3
    Wildside Expert JAFP78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    165
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Donīt think Iīve seen that one but NBA Live 96 produced often a black screen with some sort of code.
    May the 16bit power be with us

  4. #4
    Master of Shinobi NostalgicMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,226
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Pretty sure I've seen some funky stuff with the MK3/UMK3 carts.

  5. #5
    YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Oviedo, FL
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,456
    Rep Power
    63

    Default

    I've gotten that one from MK3 alllllll the time.
    Customized Sega Genesis Model 1 - VA3. Energy efficient with buck converters instead of LM7805's.


  6. #6
    Master of Shinobi SpaceFlea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,801
    Rep Power
    39

    Default

    I got that same screen with NBA All-Star Challenge.
    Be Attitude For Gains!

  7. #7
    Mister Pilgrim Master of Shinobi Cucollins12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    mexico
    Posts
    1,349
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    This is the devilīs work
    too old for video games huh?

  8. #8
    Road Rasher Solkia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Age
    28
    Posts
    401
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Fatality?
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Redifer View Post
    Oh. I'm kind of new to the Genesis so I didn't know. It took a lot of time tearing that MUSHA label off. It came off in many pieces so I just stuck them on the insert and manual (which I also trashed) while I was doing it. I did keep the plastic case, though!

  9. #9
    Master of Shinobi NostalgicMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,226
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    The real question is, what is the source of this issue? Shitty cart programming?

  10. #10
    Outrunner Stef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    616
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Just shitty programming... developers left some bugs in their game, and exception (which should not happen) lead to some debug screens as the MK3 blue screen.
    Debug screen can be different depending games.

  11. #11
    Master of Shinobi NostalgicMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,226
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stef View Post
    Just shitty programming... developers left some bugs in their game, and exception (which should not happen) lead to some debug screens as the MK3 blue screen.
    Debug screen can be different depending games.
    Doesn't surprise me. I'm sure the team was more focused on making the PS1 port as arcade accurate as possible.
    Quote Originally Posted by Masamune View Post
    There is nothing wrong with liking more than one system. What's gotten lost in this video game phenomenon is simply the love for playing games. Who cares if a game is on the NES, SNES or Genesis? Do you like the game?

    That's all that really matters at the end of the day.

  12. #12
    Road Rasher EddieJ1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    327
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I'm pretty sure virtual bart has blue screened on me as well.
    I'm willing to guess its acclaim games where the screen is blue.

  13. #13
    Raging in the Streets Aarzak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,506
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Sonic 3D Blast is famous for having a blue screen that rewards you with a LEVEL SELECT!

    Before I knew of the BARACUDA code, I used to hit my poor 3D Blast cart so many times trying to get that blue screen.

  14. #14
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Slough, England, United Kingdom
    Posts
    273
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    No, but I red-screened my Mega Drive just today . I was mucking around with my game genie and Datel Universal Adapter seeing if the US region bypass code for the Japanese version of Columns III worked. It didn't work and all I got was a pure red screen.

  15. #15
    Nameless One
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Somewhere in New Mexico
    Age
    30
    Posts
    83
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Also fun is ducking at the end of I think it's the second act in Labyrinth Zone in Sonic 1, after hitting that signpost.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •