Quantcast

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HDTV SCART to Component not exactly working...

Default HDTV SCART to Component not exactly working...

I'm new to the whole RGB scene. Got some SCART cables and a typical ebay RGB to YUV converter. Seems to work pretty well on the Genesis/32X. Only complaint is the whites seem to be a little too yellow, but I was trying this out with some heavy duty composite cables. The thick ones Verizon gave out. Haven't got components in yet. Occasionally I've seen the screen black out for a second though. My TV is a Sony Bravia 32 LCD. I tried the SMS, and got no video at all. Only way I could was to use the Ever Drive on the Genesis to start a SMS Rom. That worked better, but still had some video issues.

The cables and converter work, because I tested it on a CRT that has component at the folks' house. SMS RGB worked on a 55" Samsung plasma, but had those vertical bars in the picture. I'm assuming my Sony tv is just not going to work with the SMS RGB? Odd that the Genesis was mostly okay. Waiting on the SNES SCART cable to see how that works. Any thoughts?

HNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNG Raging in the Streets Moirai's Avatar
    HNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNG

It seems yellow because there's some pots on the inside of the thing that need to be adjusted. you can use them to change the RGB levels.

Component video = the colours need tweaking, so annoying.

YM3438 Master! ESWAT Veteran evildragon's Avatar

You need tweaking even on RGB to NTSC, even if you don't realize it.

I've seen flaws in your S-Video mods too you know, in color balance. Your whites for example are a little red.
    Customized Sega Genesis Model 1 - VA3. Energy efficient with buck converters instead of LM7805's.

When I got mine it was REALLY green shifted. Takes 5 mins to pop it open and get it looking right.

Ah I see! I will crack it open. Any ideas on the Master System?

urusei yatsura Master of Shinobi lumclaw's Avatar