Quantcast

Thread: Mega CD audio issues

Default Mega CD audio issues

Although I registered quite some time ago, I think this is my first time posting here.
    So first and foremost, hi, folks, and thanks for all the good info you provide!

I have a problem with my JPN Mega CD 1, and I'm not sure how to proceed in order to solve it. I couldn't think of a better place to ask, so please bear with me.

Allow me to start at the beginning (because the root of the problem might lie anywhere).
    Out of nostalgia, I got myself a MD a couple of years ago; as I grew up with a model 1 (PAL), I always kind of wanted to own a model 2. So that's what I got.
    I modded it for S-Video, and everything went fine, so I was happy. But I could be happier: now I needed to get the rest of the MD stuff I had always wanted as a kid, but never could have.

So I bought a 32X and a Mega CD (by the way, I live in Japan so everything is JPN). I was dead set on getting a model 1 Mega CD, because it's the one that captured my imagination when I was younger, I really like its design when coupled with a model 1 MD. I knew it was supposed to be less reliable than the MCD2, but I didn't care. Besides, at that point, I had done a bit of reading so I knew about the differences in sound quality between revisions of the MD. So I was already thinking about getting a model 1 MD anyways, and the cupboard look was too good to pass.
    I found a cheap auction for a model 1 MCD. The unit was labelled as "not working" because the CD wouldn't spin, but again, I had done some reading, so I took my chances and bought it.
    I got kind of lucky: the seller slapped in a VA4 model 1 MD in the box for free, with the MegaCD. Apparently, he didn't think it worked. Well, turns out it did.
    I S-Video modded the VA4, everything (apparently) went well.
    Then I changed the lens on the MCD, and partially recapped the interface board because some of the surface-mount capacitors had clearly leaked.