Quantcast

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 234567 LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 93

Thread: Someone can fix this Prince of Persia 2 (Proto) Bug?

  1. #76
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training Amaweks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Florianópolis, Brasil.
    Age
    39
    Posts
    23
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Awesome enhancements so far. Can't wait to see the final hack.

  2. #77
    WCPO Agent Mad Moham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    815
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    The work done so far is impressive. It looks like we may end up with one of the best versions of POP2 when the hack is complete. I appreciate the effort that's gone into the hack, its a real improvement in the whole game.

  3. #78
    Master of Shinobi Pyron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,888
    Rep Power
    60

    Default

    it gonna be one the best versions of the game after the original, great work

    Visit my youtube channel Pyron's Lair
    Take here all my hacks made with love for all of us here
    Want to help me? Here is my Patreon!

  4. #79
    Master of Shinobi LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,031
    Rep Power
    45

    Default

    Thank you guys!

    More little improvements with FM instruments and some colors:

    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Prince of Persia 2 - The Shadow and the Flame Remastered Edition v1.5

  5. #80
    Outrunner Eep386's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Not far from Sacramento
    Posts
    535
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    I'm really liking the improvements made to this unreleased game so far.
    Any chance you can simply rip that faulty sound driver out and replace it with something like GEMS?

  6. #81
    Comrade as in friend. Master of Shinobi ComradeOj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eep386 View Post
    I'm really liking the improvements made to this unreleased game so far.
    Any chance you can simply rip that faulty sound driver out and replace it with something like GEMS?
    I'm probably not the person you're asking, but maybe I can give some insight.

    Replacing the whole sound driver would be difficult. Not impossible, but probably too difficult to be worthwhile. You'll have to do a lot of work to re-create the music within a new driver like GEMS or SMPS, and also deal with sound effects. You can usually make the most improvements by swapping the old crappy instruments with better sounding ones. The old driver won't be an issue in this case. Other things like stereo panning and volume levels can also be done within the old driver.

    I did a little work on PoP2's sound somewhere earlier in this thread. I was able to swap instruments and do stereo panning to get some nice improvements. The driver wasn't really a big issue, although sometimes volume levels would get overwritten. Still, it's probably easier to fix those small issues than totally replace the sound driver and re-do all the game's sound.
    Modded consoles:
    Master System (v7040) with s-video & direct AV out
    Model 1 with 10mhz overclock & halt switches
    Model 1 with 10mhz 68010
    Model 2 VA2.3 with unfiltered Mega Amp, & s-video
    Model 3 VA1 with compatibility fixes & s-video
    32X with s-video
    Visit my web site at www.mode5.net
    Or my collection of homebrew Genesis games, programs, and music on SEGA-16!

  7. #82
    Outrunner Eep386's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Not far from Sacramento
    Posts
    535
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    But wasn't there that issue with the erratic Total Level values? Or is that fixable outside of the driver?
    Actually I'm a bit curious: was this driver used in any other games other than this prototype?
    Last edited by Eep386; 05-30-2019 at 07:46 PM. Reason: too many fixes to list

  8. #83
    Comrade as in friend. Master of Shinobi ComradeOj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eep386 View Post
    But wasn't there that issue with the erratic Total Level values? Or is that fixable outside of the driver?
    Actually I'm a bit curious: was this driver used in any other games other than this prototype?
    Yes, a problem I've had with this game and others is the driver overwriting total level values. Sometimes it just makes instruments too quiet or too loud. Sometimes it totally ruins the sound of the instrument. The culprit seems to be the game trying to make certain instruments louder or quieter with respect to the original instruments. This can cause issues when replacing the old instruments with new ones. This is probably fixable, but would require some investigation to what is triggering the total level changes. You could also just work around the total level changes, using new instruments that aren't as negativity affected by having total levels changed, or are similar enough to the old instruments to not sound wrong.

    I'm not sure what driver this game uses. If I remember right, the original PoP on GEN/MD used the GEMS driver, but PoP2 might use a different one. Somebody might have noted the sound driver of PoP2 earlier in this thread somewhere.
    Modded consoles:
    Master System (v7040) with s-video & direct AV out
    Model 1 with 10mhz overclock & halt switches
    Model 1 with 10mhz 68010
    Model 2 VA2.3 with unfiltered Mega Amp, & s-video
    Model 3 VA1 with compatibility fixes & s-video
    32X with s-video
    Visit my web site at www.mode5.net
    Or my collection of homebrew Genesis games, programs, and music on SEGA-16!

  9. #84
    Master of Shinobi LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,031
    Rep Power
    45

    Default

    New video of the actual state of my mod:


    Changed all the PCM samples with the originals from the DOS version.

    I still want to fix one thing left: Insert all the cutscenes that are left, but i have no knowledge to do this*, so i probably will release my mod in this state soon...

    *if someone can help me in this department, i can make all the cutscenes running in the Mega Drive with fade in/fade out text and animations but i don't know how to insert in the ROM in a way that works...
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Prince of Persia 2 - The Shadow and the Flame Remastered Edition v1.5

  10. #85
    Comrade as in friend. Master of Shinobi ComradeOj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    60

    Default

    Awesome work!

    Quote Originally Posted by LinkueiBR View Post
    New video of the actual state of my mod:
    I still want to fix one thing left: Insert all the cutscenes that are left, but i have no knowledge to do this*, so i probably will release my mod in this state soon...

    *if someone can help me in this department, i can make all the cutscenes running in the Mega Drive with fade in/fade out text and animations but i don't know how to insert in the ROM in a way that works...
    I might be wrong about this, but I would imagine the easiest place to add the new cutscene images/data would be at the very end of the ROM. That way you don't have to worry about causing the existing data to get shifted out of place.
    Modded consoles:
    Master System (v7040) with s-video & direct AV out
    Model 1 with 10mhz overclock & halt switches
    Model 1 with 10mhz 68010
    Model 2 VA2.3 with unfiltered Mega Amp, & s-video
    Model 3 VA1 with compatibility fixes & s-video
    32X with s-video
    Visit my web site at www.mode5.net
    Or my collection of homebrew Genesis games, programs, and music on SEGA-16!

  11. #86
    Master of Shinobi LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,031
    Rep Power
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ComradeOj View Post
    Awesome work!



    I might be wrong about this, but I would imagine the easiest place to add the new cutscene images/data would be at the very end of the ROM. That way you don't have to worry about causing the existing data to get shifted out of place.
    Exactly, but i don't know how to use pointers to "call" the new material to the point that i need in a way that work...
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Prince of Persia 2 - The Shadow and the Flame Remastered Edition v1.5

  12. #87
    Master of Shinobi LinkueiBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,031
    Rep Power
    45

    Default

    Finally finished my most complex Project!

    Thanks so much Tony Hedstron for the codes, ComradeOj for the excelent music hacking tutorial.

    Prince of Persia 2 - The Shadow and the Flame Remastered Edition v1.5:



    DOWNLOAD
    VISUAL SHOCK!
    SPEED SHOCK!
    SOUND SHOCK!
    NOW IS TIME TO THE 68000 HEART ON FIRE!


    Prince of Persia 2 - The Shadow and the Flame Remastered Edition v1.5

  13. #88
    Comrade as in friend. Master of Shinobi ComradeOj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,379
    Rep Power
    60

    Default

    You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to LinkueiBR again.
    Very cool, I'll try this out soon! I know a lot of hard work went in to this hack. I'm glad I was able to help out in a small way by writing about music hacking.
    Modded consoles:
    Master System (v7040) with s-video & direct AV out
    Model 1 with 10mhz overclock & halt switches
    Model 1 with 10mhz 68010
    Model 2 VA2.3 with unfiltered Mega Amp, & s-video
    Model 3 VA1 with compatibility fixes & s-video
    32X with s-video
    Visit my web site at www.mode5.net
    Or my collection of homebrew Genesis games, programs, and music on SEGA-16!

  14. #89
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    152
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Very good work, LinkueiBR!

    Thanks to everybody involved for making this possible.
    Last edited by MegaDriver; 11-23-2019 at 12:52 PM.

  15. #90
    WCPO Agent Mad Moham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    815
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Cool! I just tested the new version of the hack and I think we now have one of the best POP2 ports. If I'm honest I'm not normally a huge POP fan, but I am genuinely excited to play this game all the way through.

    Thanks to everyone involved in fixing the proto, you've given us another great game for the library.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •