Quantcast

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: About to try Willy Beamish again ... tech question

  1. #1
    Outrunner 0x15e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    40
    Posts
    697
    Rep Power
    17

    Default About to try Willy Beamish again ... tech question

    Ok, Willy Beamish was one of the first games I ever bought for my Sega CD (I bought it new, twice) but I've never finished it. I always get to one spot, where you have to swing across this kitchen (if I remember right, it's been 10+ years) and about 1/3 of the way across, the game would just completely hang. I went so far as to buy a second copy and it did the same thing too, so I'm pretty sure it was a hardware problem. I even tried deleting my save and playing through again from the start, with the same results.

    I was originally playing on a Genesis2+SCD2 (no 32X, they weren't out yet) so I thought it might be a compatibility problem since it was a launch game. I've recently been thinking about giving it another shot, either on my Genesis1+SCD1 or the rom box (modded Xbox), but before I do, I have just one question:

    Has anyone ever actually finished this game?

    It's quite a bit of playing before you get to that kitchen so if it's going to just hang on me again, I'm not even going to bother with it.

  2. #2
    Wildside Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pittsbugh, PA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    150
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I have finished the game. althought I had to buy the official game guide in order to do so. I believe I still have it.

  3. #3
    The Rhythm Rogue Outrunner cj iwakura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    coral springs, fl.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    506
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I remember making it as far as the epic tournament at the end. The game's loading times were painful back then.

    I imagine they'd drive me insane now.

    Oh, and I still own a copy, so I could retry if I felt like it.

    The game still has its charms.

    Getting a game over for pushing a swing too hard? Only in Willy Beamish.

  4. #4
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    39
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 0x15e
    Ok, Willy Beamish was one of the first games I ever bought for my Sega CD (I bought it new, twice) but I've never finished it. I always get to one spot, where you have to swing across this kitchen (if I remember right, it's been 10+ years) and about 1/3 of the way across, the game would just completely hang. I went so far as to buy a second copy and it did the same thing too, so I'm pretty sure it was a hardware problem. I even tried deleting my save and playing through again from the start, with the same results.

    I was originally playing on a Genesis2+SCD2 (no 32X, they weren't out yet) so I thought it might be a compatibility problem since it was a launch game. I've recently been thinking about giving it another shot, either on my Genesis1+SCD1 or the rom box (modded Xbox), but before I do, I have just one question:

    Has anyone ever actually finished this game?

    It's quite a bit of playing before you get to that kitchen so if it's going to just hang on me again, I'm not even going to bother with it.
    I've never finished it but I had that problem in the same area you did, but with both first gen Sega CD and Genesis

  5. #5
    Benjamin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,592
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    I beat the game, though I ended up calling that hint line to make sure I completed it within my rental period. You know, I think I'll play through that again now since I only vaguely remember the general plot. I wonder if I put my disc in my PC and play through an emulator if that'll remove/help with those atrocious loading times?

  6. #6
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    39
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Benjamin
    I beat the game, though I ended up calling that hint line to make sure I completed it within my rental period. You know, I think I'll play through that again now since I only vaguely remember the general plot. I wonder if I put my disc in my PC and play through an emulator if that'll remove/help with those atrocious loading times?
    Pretty sure it will run a lot faster as your CD drive is much better than a 1x drive. I think the fastest way would be to run it as a virtual drive.

  7. #7
    Outrunner 0x15e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    40
    Posts
    697
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    je2000: Thanks for confirming this. I'd never heard of anyone besides me having this problem until now. I think my next attempt will be on an emulator, since it's now been confirmed on both hardware revisions.

    Quote Originally Posted by je2000
    Pretty sure it will run a lot faster as your CD drive is much better than a 1x drive. I think the fastest way would be to run it as a virtual drive.
    You'd be amazed. Playing it on my Xbox, using an ISO instead of the actual disc, it's every bit as slow as on the Sega CD. The problem doesn't seem to be the drive; I really think there must just be some really sloppy code in there causing problems.

  8. #8
    Benjamin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,592
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 0x15e
    You'd be amazed. Playing it on my Xbox, using an ISO instead of the actual disc, it's every bit as slow as on the Sega CD. The problem doesn't seem to be the drive; I really think there must just be some really sloppy code in there causing problems.
    Well, that's disappointing. I have a boxed PC version of Willy Beamish around. Maybe I'll play that if it's a disc version with voices.

  9. #9
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    39
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Was this the game where you hit start and you got a rotating snake ball thing? What the hell was that thing for?

  10. #10
    Outrunner 0x15e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    40
    Posts
    697
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by je2000
    Was this the game where you hit start and you got a rotating snake ball thing? What the hell was that thing for?
    To keep you entertained during the voice loading. No kidding. I think it was in the manual.

    I toyed with the idea of playing the PC version but when I did some reading, it turned out the Sega CD version was vastly improved. I don't think the PC one had any voice acting at all.

  11. #11
    Death Adder's minion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    39
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 0x15e
    To keep you entertained during the voice loading. No kidding. I think it was in the manual.

    I toyed with the idea of playing the PC version but when I did some reading, it turned out the Sega CD version was vastly improved. I don't think the PC one had any voice acting at all.
    Looking back, I can see that this game kind of sucks. This is one of those that I used to rent several times, because I kept getting further and further, and the game kept freezing and freezing...

    I made it to the frog race...never past that. It's one of those "I need to beat it, just once" kind of things.

  12. #12
    Master of Shinobi MN12BIRD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,246
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    man this game is a classic. I have it on PC-CDROM with speech. For the longest time I could only find it on Amiga with speech and thought there was no speech version on PC. I rented a SegaCD and this game back in the day and will never forget it!

  13. #13
    Outrunner 0x15e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    40
    Posts
    697
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MN12BIRD
    man this game is a classic. I have it on PC-CDROM with speech. For the longest time I could only find it on Amiga with speech and thought there was no speech version on PC.
    I stand corrected then. I may have to go look for a copy like that.

  14. #14
    Master of Shinobi MN12BIRD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,246
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    yeah I play it on my P1 with SB16 and there are almost zero load times. The SCD version has its charm but if you could go back and play it with a mouse and no load times I would. I searched forever for a PC version with voice in it and could never find it and one day I found this on a torrent and it works great.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •