Quantcast

Thread: Unreleased Microprose Games

Default Unreleased Microprose Games

I saw this comment from
    Tim Trzepacz on this Kim Justice Top 100 video and figured you guys might find it interesting.

"Thanks for liking "Pirates'! Gold" for Sega Megadrive / Genesis! I worked as a programmer on the game as my very first paying game industry job, and still feel that it is one of the very best versions of "Pirates!", although entirely due to Mike Bazzell's fantastic art than anything I did.
    I started out just implementing the animation system. I called it "SAGA" for "Sega Animation and Graphic Arts", and it ran on MS-DOS using a dual monitor setup with a monochrome monitor for the UI and a color monitor to show what the Genesis screen would show. This dual-monitor setup and UI library came from Brian Reynolds, who had created it for work on the "MADS" (Microsoft Adventure Design System) games: Rex Nebular, Dragon Sphere, Bloodnet, etc. Brian would eventually go on to be Sid Meier's ghostwriter programmer for "Colonization" before leaving to start "Big Huge Games" which did the "Rise of Nations" games.
    Later, I took over things like the map screen and ships log, as the lead programmer Joe Hellesen kept the fun parts for himself. But he left the company in the middle of the project and I ended up taking over the sailing and swordfighting, which admittedly could have both been much better.