Quantcast

Thread: Tomb Raider

Saturn Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider was conceived on the Saturn but found its niche on Sony's PlayStation. Lara Croft went on to practically become the machine's go-to character. Even so, the Saturn version is still highly playable and worth owning. It might not be as visually impressive, but its gameplay still holds up despite its flaws. Read our full review for more details.

Wildside Expert

I enjoyed reading the review but learning some of the flaws you mentioned kind of made me question my own (fond) memories of the time I spent playing the game.

I started playing tomb raider on the saturn and always held that version in high regard. I still think the water effect is superb for the time.

Yes, I did play the playstation version some time later and noticed the performance increase but I don't remember being 'blown away' by it.

As for the sound, I am not sure but I was under the impression the Saturn had slightly better sound than the playstation when comparing the same game on the two systems.

Anyway, I went looking in gamefaqs for the release dates:

https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/saturn...mb-raider/data

and I can read the japanese versions were released some time later.

Could those versions published by Victor Interactive Software or Pack-In-Video contain some updates, fixes or enhancements to the original PAL release by Eidos?

Wildside Expert

Hmmm, 'Randomised Gaming' has looked into this and points out some subtle changes:

https://randomisedgaming.tumblr.com/...the-unfinished

Wildside Expert

I've been playing Tomb Raiders with the 'larger screen patch' applied and it feels great.

(Find it here: http://meduza-team.ucoz.net/publ/rom...saturn/3-1-0-5)

Yes, there is some sound crackling and performance issues but the 60hz speed boost actually enhances gameplay.

Manipulating the screen geometry attenuates a bit the stretched aspect ratio, not the zoomed-in effect.

Mega Driven Raging in the Streets cleeg's Avatar