Quantcast

Thread: Hacking NBA Live 96 Title Screen

Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One

Default Hacking NBA Live 96 Title Screen

Hello!

Now that I've reached the 50 posts mark, I need to ask for help!

As some of you may know, I "hacked" NBA Live 96 with updated rosters for 1996, 2019, and 2020:
    https://tecmobowl.org/files/file/645...?ct=1588811729
    https://tecmobowl.org/files/file/593...?ct=1588811493
    https://tecmobowl.org/files/file/651...?ct=1588811533

Anyway, I'm still a novice ROM hacker, and there's still one last important hack I'd like to add--an updated title screen (for each).

So, for example, does anyone know how to update the following title screen for NBA Live 19 Hardwood Classics ROM to say "NBA Live 19"?
    https://tecmobowl.org/screenshots/mo...534ac5cddc.png

Comrade as in friend. Master of Shinobi ComradeOj's Avatar

You'll probably have to either rip and edit that title screen, or just make a new one from scratch. It won't be as easy as just editing text.

Putting the graphics back in the game will probably be kind of a process, but is doable. A lot of Genesis games use compression for their graphics. There are a few common types like Kosinski, enigma, saxman, or Nemesis compression, but some games might use something custom. There is a tool for the four I mentioned called "The Sega Data Compressor". You can edit the decompressed art with a tool called "tile layer pro". You can skip straight to tile layer pro, if the title screen art isn't compressed.

You'll want to find where the old title screen is stored in ROM, and overwrite it with your edited one. To find the data, you can run the game in a debug emulator, and find the part of the code related to starting the title screen sequence. From there you can see what data is being read, and hopefully find the title screen art. If the data isn't compressed, then you can just open the entire ROM file in tile layer pro and just edit it directly.