Quantcast

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Have a flash cart? Help me document MD revision quirks

  1. #1
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California
    Posts
    311
    Rep Power
    24

    Genesis Have a flash cart? Help me document MD revision quirks

    Hello folks! I've written a ROM that checks for various hardware quirks that vary across board revision and are software observable. I have results for quite a few revisions, but not all of them. The revisions I HAVE results for are as follows:
    MD1 VA0
    MD1 VA2
    MD1 VA3
    MD1 VA4
    MD1 VA6
    MD2 VA1
    MD2 VA2
    MD2 VA2.3 (both chip versions)
    MD2 VA4
    MD3 VA1
    MD3 VA2
    Teradrive
    LaserActive (technically haven't run this test yet, but I have one here so easy to test when I get to it)

    If you have a system that is not on that list (MD1 VA5, MD2 VA0, Nomad, CDX, etc.) and a flash cart, I would really appreciate if you were to run this ROM and post the results here (a picture is fine).
    Last edited by Mask of Destiny; 01-04-2021 at 08:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Comrade as in friend. Master of Shinobi ComradeOj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,441
    Rep Power
    62

    Default

    I have a Nomad, I'll check out out the ROM and post results. I also might have a VA0 MD2 and VA7 MD1 somewhere in the shed.

    EDIT:
    Nomad results:
    Last edited by ComradeOj; 01-04-2021 at 08:59 PM.
    Modded consoles:
    Master System (v7040) with s-video & direct AV out
    Model 1 with 10mhz overclock & halt switches
    Model 1 with 10mhz 68010
    Model 2 VA2.3 with unfiltered Mega Amp, & s-video
    Model 3 VA1 with compatibility fixes & s-video
    32X with s-video
    Visit my web site at www.mode5.net
    Or my collection of homebrew Genesis games, programs, and music on SEGA-16!

  3. #3
    Hero of Algol
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8,104
    Rep Power
    189

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mask of Destiny View Post
    If you have a system that is not on that list (MD1 VA5, MD2 VA0, Nomad, CDX, etc.)
    I just confirmed I have a JP MD1 VA5 here, so I get the results for you.

    I also have 2 JP MD1 VA6s with different code for the left ASIC (despite both consoles having very close serial numbers) one has a 315-5313 and the other one has a 315-5313A. Couldn't that make a difference too?

    I also have a rare Dynacom Megavision which could be interesting to document even if only for the purpose of trying to know to which revision it would be mostly similar to in terms of behavior. It's a early 90s clone, so it even has proper SSG-EG support.

    I'll try to post all the results still today.

  4. #4
    Hero of Algol
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8,104
    Rep Power
    189

    Default

    @Mask of Destiny
    It only gives me a blank screen on the JP MD1 VA5; both using a Everdrive MD v2.5 and a Mega SD.
    Other games are working fine on it.
    And I had used the same bin you shared with the VA6 with no issues.

  5. #5
    Hero of Algol
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8,104
    Rep Power
    189

    Default

    Here are the results for the JP MD1 VA6s (both using the Everdrive MD):

    The one with the 315-5313:





    The one with the 315-5313A:



  6. #6
    Hero of Algol
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8,104
    Rep Power
    189

    Default

    JP MD1 VA5 results using the no TMSS version provided by MoD (using the Everdrive MD):


    Last edited by Barone; 01-04-2021 at 10:26 PM.

  7. #7
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California
    Posts
    311
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ComradeOj View Post
    Nomad results:
    No real surprises here, but thanks for confirming! There is one other thing that would be interesting to test on a Nomad. If you don't mind, could you post the results of this ROM from your Nomad too?

    Quote Originally Posted by Barone View Post
    JP MD1 VA5 results using the no TMSS version provided by MoD (using the Everdrive MD):
    This combined with the normal ROM locking up is indeed quite interesting. Thanks for this!

  8. #8
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    My NOMAD got little bit different FM Busy Time:



    And here is Genesis MD2 VA3:



  9. #9
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1,460
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    I have a MD2 VA1.8, I can try when I get back to it. Or is it already the same as VA1 ? Do you need that?
    Lists of MD games: officially licensed (~925) @ cart sizes @ Top 5 @ Top 250 @ Sonic hacks @ best title screens @ Arcade ports (150) @ best European games

  10. #10
    ACHTUNG! MD angeschaltet! Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One eukara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    /dev/dsp
    Posts
    73
    Rep Power
    6

    Default





    A PAL 'M5' that has VA5 & VA6 (?) markings. If that's of any use.

  11. #11
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California
    Posts
    311
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CiNEPHiL View Post
    My NOMAD got little bit different FM Busy Time:
    There's a small bit of imprecision in that test so it will vary slightly some times. That said, if you don't mind running this ROM on your Nomad, that would be very helpful.

    Quote Originally Posted by CiNEPHiL View Post
    And here is Genesis MD2 VA3:
    No surprises here, but nice to have confirmation.

    Quote Originally Posted by chilled View Post
    I have a MD2 VA1.8, I can try when I get back to it. Or is it already the same as VA1 ? Do you need that?
    I would expect it to behave the same as a VA1 for the quirks I know about. Couldn't hurt to have that data point though if you've got the time.

    Quote Originally Posted by eukara View Post
    A PAL 'M5' that has VA5 & VA6 (?) markings. If that's of any use.
    To tell which it is (VA5 or VA6) you need to look at the part number of the big square chip that's above that bit of text. If it matches the part number next to the "VA5" mark, then it's a VA5. If it instead matches the part number next to the "VA6" mark then it's a VA6.

  12. #12
    Comrade as in friend. Master of Shinobi ComradeOj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,441
    Rep Power
    62

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mask of Destiny View Post
    No real surprises here, but thanks for confirming! There is one other thing that would be interesting to test on a Nomad. If you don't mind, could you post the results of this ROM from your Nomad too?
    I just ran it. I didn't take a photo, but it reads:

    7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f

    7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f
    Modded consoles:
    Master System (v7040) with s-video & direct AV out
    Model 1 with 10mhz overclock & halt switches
    Model 1 with 10mhz 68010
    Model 2 VA2.3 with unfiltered Mega Amp, & s-video
    Model 3 VA1 with compatibility fixes & s-video
    32X with s-video
    Visit my web site at www.mode5.net
    Or my collection of homebrew Genesis games, programs, and music on SEGA-16!

  13. #13
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California
    Posts
    311
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ComradeOj View Post
    I just ran it. I didn't take a photo, but it reads:

    7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f

    7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f 7f
    Thanks! This confirms the reason why Decap Attack does not work properly on the Nomad.

  14. #14
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mask of Destiny
    There's a small bit of imprecision in that test so it will vary slightly some times. That said, if you don't mind running this ROM on your Nomad, that would be very helpful.
    It shows nothing - just black screen

  15. #15
    ACHTUNG! MD angeschaltet! Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One eukara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    /dev/dsp
    Posts
    73
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mask of Destiny View Post
    To tell which it is (VA5 or VA6) you need to look at the part number of the big square chip that's above that bit of text. If it matches the part number next to the "VA5" mark, then it's a VA5. If it instead matches the part number next to the "VA6" mark then it's a VA6.
    Good to know! I hadn't catched that. Went and opened it up again - it's a VA6. Sorry

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •