Quantcast

Thread: Dragon Force (I and II) improvement/difficulty hacks

Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingSports Talker peido's Avatar

Alex Kidd Dragon Force (I and II) improvement/difficulty hacks

Like most of you, my favourite game for the Saturn is Dragon Force.

I was watching the latest review of SegaLordX of Dragon Force, and he said something that I had already realised before: the game was much more fun when I did not use cheap strategies.

I have zero experience in game hacking, and I realize it requires a lot of time and effort (I would be available for debugging and helping in other ways), but I'll leave some ideas here for anyone willing to do:
    1- after winning an enemy party, the enemy party starts to run away; it shouldn't be possible to pause the game and immediately launch a new party to capture the escapees; the enemy party should be invincible in the first few seconds after starting to run away, or the player shouldn't be able to launch a new party on the first seconds after winning a battle (the time could be the same time as the winning pose lasts).
    2- when I control a troop of archers or mages, after defeating the enemy troops, I just leave my troops a few steps from the enemy general on standby and firing at him, the enemy general doesn't have the opportunity to defend himself; in this situation, I think the enemy general should just escape the battle before loosing to much health and improving is chances of not being captured.
    3- maybe dragon crests and other good items could be a bit more difficult of obtaining, like requiring a general with higher level of search to have a slight chance of finding them.