Quantcast

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Megadrive Interlaced mode: which games?

  1. #1
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One McValdemar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Rome (Italy)
    Age
    48
    Posts
    99
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Megadrive Interlaced mode: which games?

    Hi everyone, I was curious to see how a game looks like when MegaDrive is using the interlaced modes such as 320448.

    I expect 30FPS, correct?
    Is there any game that uses this mode during all the game?

    The only one I know is Sonic 2 but only in the split screen mode...
    Any other title?

  2. #2
    Hero of Algol
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8,104
    Rep Power
    189

    Default

    Combat Cars also uses it in split-screen mode:
    https://segaretro.org/Combat_Cars

  3. #3
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,429
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    The Censor C64 Picture Demo also uses it.

  4. #4
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    53
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    sega GENESIS dashin desperadoes

  5. #5
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,219
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McValdemar View Post
    Hi everyone, I was curious to see how a game looks like when MegaDrive is using the interlaced modes such as 320448.

    I expect 30FPS, correct?
    Is there any game that uses this mode during all the game?

    The only one I know is Sonic 2 but only in the split screen mode...
    Any other title?
    Sonic 2 2-player does not look like 30 fps to me, it runs just as smoothly as 1p mode.

  6. #6
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,429
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by axel View Post
    Sonic 2 2-player does not look like 30 fps to me, it runs just as smoothly as 1p mode.
    The interlaced modes run 60fps, but interlaced. Which some people translate to 30fps but this is not correct - it runs 60fps but only updates half the lines on the screen per frame.

  7. #7
    Road Rasher
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    403
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    the intro of Hokuto no ken / last battle uses interlaced

  8. #8
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One McValdemar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Rome (Italy)
    Age
    48
    Posts
    99
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zyrobs View Post
    The interlaced modes run 60fps, but interlaced. Which some people translate to 30fps but this is not correct - it runs 60fps but only updates half the lines on the screen per frame.
    Exactly.
    Initially I tought that the interlaced mode was working like on C64 where you gain a fake higher resolution with flickering. Not the best but actually you have this perception of hi-res.

    On MD I see (from emulators) that actually works in the way that you have the larger image in the buffer but is rendered every other line with no higher res perception to the eye. So, seems very fitting the usage is done on Solnic 2 where you don't change tiles but you can squeeze in one screen what would require two screens.

    At least from the emulator.

  9. #9
    Master of Shinobi
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,219
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Are there any tech demos or homebrews that use interlaced mode for high res video or gameplay? It would be cool to see an MD game running in native 320x448.

  10. #10
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    497
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    It's not interesting for homebrew because interlaced sucks on modern TVs.

  11. #11
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingNameless One McValdemar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Rome (Italy)
    Age
    48
    Posts
    99
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    This was my idea but I see it works differently. You don't have a flickering higher resolution as happens for C64.

  12. #12
    Hedgehog-in-Training Hedgehog-in-TrainingRoad Rasher
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    497
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    You do have a fake, flickered higher resolution. That's the very definition of interlaced. Perhaps C64's is somehow worse, or not handled well by your TV.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •