Quantcast

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Sega CD Grounding Plate

  1. #1
    Wildside Expert Chris Marsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    31
    Posts
    182
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Sega CD Grounding Plate

    I recently got a Sega CD system and it did not come with a metal grounding plate that goes below the Genesis. Do I need that to run the Sega CD? If so, does anybody have a Sega CD Model 2 grounding plate that I can buy off of somebody. This is because the Sega CD won't even turn on even when all of the other hookups are in properly. Thanks

  2. #2
    Blast processor Melf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Cabo Rojo, PR
    Posts
    9,546
    Rep Power
    135

    Default

    I don't think it's required for the system to run, but cuts out a lot of the interference from the connection. Finding one may be a bit hard though.

  3. #3
    Raging in the Streets
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    2,788
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    I run a Mega Drive2 and Mega CD 2 with no grounding plate. The only reason Sega used it was it was to cut down on interference between the consoles, and as a convenient anchor. In reality this is non-existent.

    As the metal plate isn't wired to the machine or anything, it can't be the plate (or lack of) that's causing problems with the machine. Try cleaning the connector pins like you would clean a cartridge.

  4. #4
    Road Rasher lordofduct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    473
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    The plate doesn't ground... it just holds the genny in place

    What possibly is happening is that the grounding plate is what holds it down and allows a good angle to get a good connection with the Sega CD.

    So just fiddle it a bit when off and continually test by turning it on when you get into a place. Then figure out a way to keep it in that position because you don't want it moving during gameplay, that will bugger some stuff up.





    Lucky for you though... I have one sitting in my hands right now.
    I actually have a few.

    I'm still trying to find those 32X spacers... I remember Melf needing one.

    Das war der Hammer.

  5. #5
    Wildside Expert Chris Marsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    31
    Posts
    182
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I have two 32X spacers, but I use them for my 32X system.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sega returns to american arcade scene
    By Revenge of Joe Musashi in forum Insert Coin
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-29-2008, 11:18 AM
  2. Why did Sega put FMV capablities in the Sega CD?
    By Psy in forum Sega CD Station
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 10:27 PM
  3. Sega & Totally Games Together on PSP
    By Melf in forum Insert Coin
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-18-2005, 04:24 PM
  4. New editions of Sega Ages are coming!
    By Melf in forum Insert Coin
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-11-2005, 12:35 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 03:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •